SAASS Student Support AY 18-19

Print Page

ONLINE MATERIAL SUPPORTING SELECTED SAASS COURSES

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

DIRECTED THESIS RESEARCH

SAASS 690
AY 2018-2019


Objectives:
     1. To promote student growth in the areas of research, argumentation, and written expression, thus producing more
          competent strategists for the Air Force and the Nation.
     2. To contribute to the body of knowledge about strategy writ large, with particular attention to its connection to air
          power, space power, and cyber power.


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.


  • Air University Style and Author Guide
     
  • Wayne Booth     Obituary
    Gregory G. Colomb    In Memoriam
    Joseph M. Williams     Obituary
    The Craft of Research     Publisher Description     Interview with authors

     
  • Claire Kehrwald Cook     Obituary
    Line by Line:  How to Edit Your Own Writing

  • H. Ramsey Fowler
    Jane E. Aaron     Biography
    The Little, Brown Handbook

     
  • Alexander L. George     Obituary
    Andrew Bennett     Biography
    Case Studies and Theory Development in the Social Sciences     Review 

     
  • Gary King      Biography
    Robert Keohane     Biography
    Sidney Verba       Biography
    Designing Social Inquiry:  Scientific Inference in Qualitative Research     Review

     
  • Henry Kissinger     Biography
    Diplomacy       Review

     
  • Richard Marius     In Memoriam
    Melvin E. Page     Biography
    A Short Guide to Writing about History     Review 

     
  • Robert Pape      Biography
    Bombing to Win:  Air Power and Coercion in War      Review

     
  • Victor C. Pellegrino     Biography
    A Writer's Guide to Powerful Paragraphs

     
  • Stephen Randolph      Biography
    Powerful and Brutal Weapons:  Nixon, Kissinger, and the Easter Offensive       Review

     
  • William Strunk
    E.B. White     Biography
    The Elements of Style     Review 

     
  • Marc Trachtenberg     Biography    (Click on Curriculum Vitae under his picture)
    The Craft of International History:  A Guide to Method       Review

     
  • Anthony Weston      Biography
    A Rulebook for Arguments        


The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

 

 

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

FOUNDATIONS OF STRATEGY

SAASS 601
16 July - 3 August 2018


"The foundation of the study of strategy is the study of history, and in particular, the sub-discipline of military history."


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.


  • Day 1
    Thomas Kuhn     Biography
    The Structure of Scientific Revolutions     Review

     
  • Day 2
    Daniel Kahneman     Biography 1     Biography 2
    Thinking, Fast and Slow     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 3
    Thucydides     Biography
    The Landmark Thucydides     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 4
    Thucydides     Biography
    The Landmark Thudydides     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 5
    Robert Jervis     Biography
    Perception and Misperception in International Politics     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 6
    Graham Allison     Biography
    Phiip Zelikow     Biography
    Essence of Decision:  Explaining the Cuban Missile Crisis     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 7
    Yuen Foong Khong     Biography
    Analogies at War:  Korea, Munich, Dien Bien Phu, and the Vietnam Decisions of 1965     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 8
    Douglas Peifer     Biography   (click on alphabet O-Z and scroll down to 3rd entry)
    Choosing War:  Presidential Decisions in the Maine, Lusitania, and Panay Incidents     Review

     
  • Day 9
    Risa A. Brooks     Biography
    Shaping Strategy:  The Civil-Military Politics of Strategic Assessment     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 10
    James G. Murphy     Book Description and Biography
    War's Ends:  Human Rights, International Order, and the Ethics of Peace     Review Essay

     
  • Day 11
    Xiaoming Zhang     Biography     (click on alphabet O-Z and scroll down to the last entry)
    Deng Xiaoping's Long War:  The Military Conflict between China and Vietnam, 1979-1991     Review 1     Review 2

     
  • Day 12
    Christian Caryl      Biography
    Strange Rebels:  1979 and the Birth of 21st Century    Review 1       Review 2

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

FOUNDATIONS OF MILITARY THEORY
SAASS 600
6 August - 30 August 2018


"This course consists of fifteen seminars divided into three conceptual groupings:  general theory, specific theory, and strategy."


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.

Fairchild Center Bibliographies:

Great Warrior Leaders/Thinkers
Links to Air University Library resources and Internet information on twenty-four military leaders, including:  Sun Tzu, Clausewitz, Jomini, Fuller, Liddell Hart, Mahan, Corbett, Douhet.


Internet Resources Available Through Air War College Gateway:

Air War College Gateway to Military Theory, Theorists & Strategy
Includes links to home pages and other materials on:  Sun Tzu, Clausewitz, Liddell Hart, Corbett, and others.


Other Internet Resources:

Clausewitz
     Clausewitz Homepage

     A Wake for Clausewitz:  Toward a Philosophy of 21st-Century Warfare
     Part of Clausewitz Homepage

     Peter Paret   Biography
     Gordon Alexander Craig     In Memoriam
     Felix Gilbert     Obituary
     Makers of Modern Strategy:  From Machiavelli to the Nuclear Age     Review 1     Review 2

Sun Tzu   
    Sun Zi
     from the New World Encyclopedia

     Harold Winton
     An Imperfect Jewel:  Military Theory and the Military Profession    (Article)

Jomini
    Antoine Henri Jomini
      from  Encyclopedia.com

    The Influence of Clausewitz on Jomini's Précis de l'Art de la Guerre
     MA Dissertation, King's College London by Christoph M. V. Abegglen
   
Mahan
    Mahan's Classical View and the Profession of Arms   (scroll down to pg. 104)
     by Donald D. Chipman

    Alfred Thayer Mahan
      from Encyclopedia.com

Corbett
    Corbett, Clausewitz, and Sun Tzu
     Article by Michael I. Handel.

     Julian S. Corbett    Biography
     Some Principles of Maritime Strategy     Description

    Sea Power Theorists
     Chapter from Christopher Bassford's book:  Clausewitz in English:  The Reception of Clausewitz in Britain
     and America, 1815-1945

Giulio Douhet
   Giulio Douhet
     from Encyclopedia.com

    The Command of the Air by Giulio Douhet:  A Military Times Classic
     Article in Military History Monthly

     John Slessor    Biography 1    Biography 2
     Air Power and Armies    Review 

Liddell Hart
     Sir Basil Henry Liddell-Hart
    from the International Encyclopaedia of the First World War

   Michael Eliot Howard       Biography 1      Biography 2
     War in European History       
Review

Fuller
    J.F.C. Fuller and Basil Liddell Hart 
    Chapter 15 - Clausewitz,  by Christopher Bassford (Clausewitz Homepage)

    J.F.C. Fuller    Biography
    The Foundations of the Science of War

    Theory from Practice:  Major General J.F.C. Fuller
    Article from History Today by Brian Holden Reid.

      Everett Dolman     Biography
      Pure Strategy:  Power and Principle in the Space and Information Age     Review

      Edward Luttwak         Article
      Strategy:  The Logic of War and Peace     Review 1    Review 2

      Colin Gray     Biography 1      Biography 2
      The Strategy Bridge:  Theory for Practice     Review  (Scroll down to pg 1489)


The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

AIR POWER IN THE AGE OF TOTAL WAR

SAASS 627
4 September - 5 October 2018


"This course examines the historical development of air power and strategy in the crucible of the two World Wars."


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.



The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

FOUNDATIONS OF INTERNATIONAL POLITICS

SAASS 632
9 October - 2 November 2018


"...this course introduces you to theories of international politics used to assess strategic problems in the international arena. The rationale for this course stems from the conviction that one cannot do strategy without a working knowledge of international politics and all that is encompassed within the field that explores relationships between nation-states."


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.


  • Block 1:  Modern International Relations and IR Theory

    9 October
    :  The Development of Modern International Relations

    Barry Buzan         Biography
    George Lawson      Biography
    The Global Transformation:  History, Modernity and the Making of International Relations        Review 1     Review 2

    11 October:  Introduction to IR Theory

    Daniel W. Drezner      Biography
    Theories of International Politics and Zombies           Review

    12 October:  International Politics as a Systemic Problem:  The Origins of Neorealism Readings

    Kenneth Waltz    In Memoriam        Biography         Interview
    Man, the State and War:  A Theoretical Analysis      Review

    15 October:  Realist Thought:  Offensive Realism

    John Mearsheimer     Biography
    The Tragedy of Great Power Politics     Review 

    16 October:  Hegemonic Stability Theory

    Robert Gilpin       Obituary     Article
    War and Change in World Politics     Review 1     Review 2 

    18 October:  Cooperation Through Institutions

    Robert O. Keohane     Biography
    After Hegemony:  Cooperation and Discord in the World Political Economy    Review 1      Review 2

    19 October:  Liberal Thought and Liberal Theory:  Liberal International Order

    G. John Ikenberry     Biography
    Liberal Leviathan:  The Origins, Crisis and Transformation of the American World Order     Review 1     Review 2     Publisher's Description 

    22 October:  Constructivist Thought and Constructivist Theory:  Anarchy, Norms and Ideas Readings

    Alexander Wendt     Interview
    Anarchy is What States Make of It:  The Social Construction of Power Politics.  International Organization  46(2):391-425  1992.     (Journal Article)

    Martha Finnemore     Biography
    The Purpose of Intervention:  Changing Beliefs about the Use of Force     Review 1      Review 2

     
  • Block 2:  Military Deterrence and Coercion in International Politics

    23 October:  Logic of Military Coercion

    Thomas C. Schelling     Biography 1     Biography 2
    Arms and Influence     Review 1     Review 2

    Caitlin Talmadge      Alumni Profile
    Would China Go Nuclear?  Assessing the Risk of Chinese Nuclear Escalation in a Conventional War with the United States.  International Security  41(4):50-92  2017.    (Journal Article)

    25 October:  The Use and Limits of Coercion

    Daniel Byman     Biography
    Matthew Waxman     Biography
    The Dynamics of Coercion:  American Foreign Policy and the Limits of Military Might     Review 1          Review 2

    26 October:  Deterrence and US Nuclear Strategy Revisited

    Matthew Kroenig     Biography
    The Logic of American Nuclear Strategy:  Why Strategic Superiority Still Matters    Review

    29 October:  Nuclear Strategy in States with Small Arsenals

    Vipin Narang     Biography
    Nuclear Strategy in the Modern Era:  Regional Powers and International Conflict     Review 1     Review 2 


    Block 3:  Economic and Geographic Factors in International Politics

    30 October:  Economic Interdependence


    Dale C. Copeland     Biography
    Economic Interdependence and War     Review

    1 November:  Economic Statecraft and Geoeconomics

    Robert D. Blackwill     Biography
    Jennifer M. Harris       Biography
    War by Other Means:  Geoeconomics and Statecraft        Review

    2 November:  Geopolitics

    Tim Marshall       Biography
    Prisoners of Geography:  Ten Maps That Explain Everything about the World       Publisher Description

The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

AIR POWER IN AN AGE OF LIMITED WAR

SAASS 628
13 November - 14 December 2018


"SAASS 628 hopes to foster a pattern of thought and a habit of inquiry that will contribute to sound judgments about the use of air and space power in the pursuit of national objectives."


Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.


13 November  (Day 1)

Andrei Cherny    Biography
The Candy Bombers:  The Untold Story of the Berlin Airlift and America's Finest Hour     Review 1     Review 2


15 November (Day 2)

Conrad Crane     Biography
American Airpower Strategy in Korea, 1950-1953   Review 1     Review 2

16 November (Day 3)


Xiaoming Zhang     Biography   (click on alphabet range O-Z to locate name)

Red Wings over the Yalu:  China, the Soviet Union, and the Air War in Korea     Review 1     Review 2


19 November
(Day 4)

Bernard Brodie     Tribute     Obituary
Strategy in the Missile Age     Review 1     Review 2

20 November (Day 5)

Edward Kaplan     Biography   
To Kill Nations:  American Strategy in the Air-Atomic Age and the Rise of Mutually Assured Destruction     Review 1     Review 2

Campbell Craig     Biography
Destroying the Village:  Eisenhower and Thermonuclear War     Review 1     Review 2

26 November (Day 6)

Walter A. McDougall              Biography
The Heavens and the Earth:  A Political History of the Space Age     Review

27 & 28 November (Days 7 & 8)

Mark Clodfelter     Biography
The Limits of Air Power:  The American Bombing of North Vietnam     Review 1     Review 2

Stephen Randolph     Biography   (Scroll down to the 16th item)
Powerful and Brutal Weapons:  Nixon, Kissinger, and the Easter Offensive     Review

30 November (Day 9)

James S. Corum     Biography
Wray R. Johnson    
Airpower in Small Wars:  Fighting Insurgents and Terrorists     Review 1     Review 2    Publisher Description

Benjamin F. Cooling     Biography        (Scroll down to National Security & Economics Policy section, 6th item down)
Case Studies in the Development of Close Air Support      Review

3 December (Day 10)

James Kitfield     Biography
Prodigal Soldiers:  How the Generation of Officers Born of Vietnam Revolutionized the American Style of War     Review

4 December (Day 11)

John Andreas Olsen     Biography   (Includes review of the book)
Strategic Air Power in Desert Storm     Review 1     Review 2

6 December (Day 12)

Diane T. Putney    
Airpower Advantage:  Planning the Gulf War Air Campaign, 1989-1991     (Scroll down to page 10 for Author's biography)   

Thomas A. Keaney     Biography
Eliot A. Cohen      Biography
Gulf War Air Power Survey, Volume 2:  Operations and Effects and Effectiveness   

Eliot A.Cohen     Biography
The Mystique of U.S. Air Power    (Article)

7 December (Day 13)

Dag Henriksen    Biography    (Scroll down)
NATO's Gamble:  Combining Diplomacy and Airpower in Kosovo Crisis, 1998-1999      Review 1      Review 2

10 & 11 December (Day 14 & 15)

Benjamin Lambeth    Biography
The Unseen War:  Allied Air Power and the Takedown of Saddam Hussein     Review 1     Review 2

Dag Henriksen     Biography   (Scroll down)
Airpower in Afghanistan, 2005-10:  The Air Commanders' Perspectives

13 December (Day 16)

Karl P. Mueller     Biography
Precision and Purpose:  Airpower in the Libyan Civil War     Publisher Description

14 December (Day 17)

Jeffrey A. Larsen     Biography
Kerry M. Kartchner     Biography
On Limited Nuclear War in the 21st Century     Review


The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Coming Soon !!

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Course Support

IRREGULAR WARFARE

SAASS 644
3 January - 18 January 2019


Irregular Conflicts remain elusive and not particularly well understood in the Air Force despite a decade's worth of experience in them.  How we got into such conflicts is not as useful to the strategist as the following set of questions and their answers:

  • What is Irregular Warfare?  Are irregular conflicts fundamentally different from other types of conflicts?  If not, why, and if so, what does this mean for the use of force and the application of military power?
  • Who instigates irregular conflicts and how do they think they can win?  What types of irregular adversaries do we face and how have they conceived victory against opponents with superior forces and resources?
  • How are current irregular conflicts different from those of the past?  How important are issues such as ideology, geography, time and technology to victory?
  • How and under what conditions do irregular conflicts end?
  • How do we balance requirements to sustain pressure on violent extremist groups globally while preparing for possible conflict against peer or near-peer competitors?

Some materials listed below require access to subscription databases.  If you cannot gain access, contact your local library for availability.  AU students and faculty can contact the center's Web Maintainer for a password.


Internet Resources

Listed below is on-line information about books and their authors used in this course.  Some links may only be available on-base at Air University.


Seminar One

Stathis N. Kalyvas     Biography
The Logic of Violence in Civil War     Review

James Kiras     Biography    (Scroll down to author's name)
Understanding Modern Warfare     Publisher's Information     Review

Seminar Two

T.E. Lawrence     Biography
The Evolution of a Revolt     Review 1     Review 2

Mao Tse-Tung     Biography
On Protracted Warfare     Review

Seminar Three

Ernesto "Che" Guevara     Biography
Guerrilla Warfare     Review   (includes discussion of Guevara's Guerrilla Warfare principles)

Jules Regis Debray    
Biography
Revolution in the Revolution?  Armed Struggle and Political Struggle in Latin America     Review

Seminar Four

Eric Hoffer     Biography
The True Believer:  Thoughts on the Nature of Mass Movements     Review 1     Review 2

Sayyid Qutb     Biography
Milestones     Review

Seminar Five

David Kilcullen     Interview     About the Author   (click on Author Information)
Out of the Mountains:  The Coming Age of the Urban Guerrilla      Review 1     Review 2     Author's Comments   (Youtube Video)

Seminar Six

David Galula     SSI Monograph   (click on .pdf under "download format")
Pacification in Algeria, 1956-1958     Document Information

Roger Trinquier     Biography   (scroll down to pg.7)
Modern Warfare:  A French View of Counterinsurgency     Review 1     Review 2  

Seminar Seven

Paul Staniland     Biography
Networks of Rebellion:  Explaining Insurgent Cohesion and Collapse     Review

Seminar Eight

 

ARIS, Little Green Men:  A Primer on Russian Unconventional Warfare, Ukraine, 2013-2014  
The Gray Zone  USSOCOM White Paper (September 9, 2015)
The National Strategy for Counterterrorism  (October 2018)
The National Strategy for Combating Terrorism  (February 2003)
The National Military Strategic Plan for the War on Terrorism  (February 1, 2006)
The National Security Strategy of the United States  (December 2017)


Seminar Nine

Emile Simpson     Interview
War from the Ground Up:  Twenty-First Century Combat as Politics     Review


The appearance of hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the U.S. Air Force of this web site or the information, products, or services contained therein.  For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and morale, welfare and recreation sites, the U.S. Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provided consistent with the stated purpose of this DoD web site.

Coming Soon !!

Coming Soon !!

Coming Soon !!

Coming Soon !!

Loading ...
Accessibility/Section 508