Print Page

MSFRIC Services: Faculty Services

School Liaisons

A librarian is assigned as a liaison to each Air University school. The liaison can help you with course readings, acquire needed materials not in the MSFRIC collections, set up tours or library instructional sessions for classes, and orient you to the services and resources at MSFRIC.

Databases

Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center offers access to over 60 electronic databases to AU students and faculty from the library and the schools. Select databases are also available off-base with user IDs and passwords.  If you have any questions or need assistance, please contact the Electronic Services Librarian at 953-8301.

Interlibrary Loan

If you need to utilize materials for research that are not in the Library's collection, it is possible to borrow them through Interlibrary Loan. The AU Library does not charge for this service and transactions will take approximately 10 days for receipt of materials. Please complete an online request formIf you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Interlibrary Loan at 953-7223.

Circulation

When registering for a library card, identify yourself as faculty, and you will be able to borrow books for up to 90 days. This loan period does not include periodicals, documents, videos, or authority materials. Items may be renewed by telephone at 953-2230.

Subject Research Guides

Librarians are assigned subject and geographic areas for which they conduct literature searches, and at certain intervals publish Subject Research Guides.  MSFRIC Subject Resource Guides and Bibliographies (1988-2013) are valuable starting points for your curriculum development .  For further information contact the Chief Bibliographer at 953-5042.

Course Reserves

Air University Faculty should contact their school liaison to set up course or elective reserve shelves.

** To verify if your items have been placed on reserve, you may click here: Search Course Reserves or select the “Course Reserve and Reading List” tab from the MSFRIC “Search the Catalog” page  ** .MIL only.

Curriculum Assistance

The MSFRIC webpage offers curriculum support pages for each of the schools. This service is managed by the school liaisons who coordinate with AU faculty. To see your school curriculum assistance page select AU Student & Research Guides on the MSFRIC homepage, find your school under AU Student Support on the left. Contact your school liaison or the Chief Bibliographer at 953-5042 if you require assistance.

Material Requests

The AU Library solicits input from the faculty for material purchases. Complete identification of items is requested, and you will be notified when the items have been received and processed. Requests may be turned in at the Reference Desk or online by filling out our Suggest a Purchase. For further information contact the Chief of Reader Services Division at 953-2237.

Accessibility/Section 508