Print Page

MSFRIC Services: Customer Services

Information Desk

The Reference Collection contains fact books, atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and bibliographies, as well as general and specific information tools. MSFRIC policy restricts circulation of reference materials to use in-house.

The Reference Desk is staffed by librarians to answer your questions and provide information about Air University, the Air Force, MSFRIC collections, resources and services. The Reference Desk is staffed during all hours of operation and is located near the main entrance on the first floor.

You may want to ask reference questions or verify facts. For more information, call the Reference Desk at 334-953-2888 or e-mail us. We'll be happy to assist you.

Electronic Reference

For quick, factual questions, the library offers electronic reference services. Air University students, staff members, or faculty members receive first priority on questions received. Your request will be sent to an e-mail box that will be checked twice daily, Monday through Friday. Answers to questions will be provided as time permits. To submit an electronic reference question, simply e-mail us!

Scanning

A scanning station can be found in the reference area.

Study & Collaboration Rooms

Individual study and/or small group collaboration Rooms 106A-D and A221-A222, A225-A226 are available on a "first come-first served" basis.  There are also several study rooms upstairs in the new annex, which are available on a "first come-first served" basis. Group Study Room A223 can be reserved at the main Reference Desk for up to two hours.

Auditorium Use

The Auditorium (Room 170) seats up to 90 people and AV projection equipment is available in the Auditorium.  Reservations may be made by phoning the Chief of Administration's Office, (334-953-2800).

Wireless Access

Access to wireless commercial internet services is provided throughout MSFRIC to Air University students, faculty and staff.   The service is identified as AUCIS.  Username and password are required for MSFRIC center desktops, personal devices and school issued laptops. Students and faculty will be notified of password changes through normal A3/6 communications. MSFRIC has six wireless workstations for commercial use of the internet.

Maps

The Cartographic Information Section of MSFRIC is responsible for all cartographic information support for Air University. This section enhances the educational function of Air University by providing maps and charts to students, faculty, and staff in residence at Maxwell/Gunter. Map support is also provided to AFJROTC and AFROTC detachments throughout the United States as coordinated through HQ AFROTC. The map room is staffed from 1-3pm on Monday-Friday. For more information about the Map Room or to request a map, click here.

Privacy and Security Notice Policies

The Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center web site is provided as a public service by Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center and the Maxwell Support Division

Information presented on the Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Web Site is considered public information and may be distributed or copied. Use of appropriate byline/photo/image credits is requested.

Information concerning visitors and use of this site is collected for analytical and statistical purposes, such as assessing what information is of most and least interest, determining technical design specifications, and identifying system performance or problem areas.

For site security purposes and to ensure that this service remains available to all users, this government computer system employs software programs to monitor network traffic to identify unauthorized attempts to upload or change information, or otherwise cause damage.

Raw data logs will only be used to identify individual users and their usage habits for authorized law enforcement investigations or national security purposes. These logs are scheduled for regular destruction in accordance with National Archives and Records Administration Guidelines.

Unauthorized attempts to deny service, upload information, change information, or to attempt to access a non-public site from this service are strictly prohibited and may be punishable under Title 18 of the U.S. Code to include the Computer Fraud and Abuse Act of 1986 and the National Information Infrastructure Protection Act.

If you have any questions or comments about the information presented here, please forward them to us using the Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center Web Site Comment Form.

The Presence of Commercial/External Links 

The appearance of  hyperlinks does not constitute endorsement by the United States Air Force, Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center, or the Department of Defense of this Web site, or the information, products or services contained therein. For other than authorized activities such as military exchanges and Morale, Welfare and Recreation (MWR) sites, the United States Air Force does not exercise any editorial control over the information you may find at these locations.  Such links are provide consistent with the stated purpose of the Web site.

Cookie Disclaimer

A "cookie" is a small piece of information (token) sent by a Web server and stored on a user's system (hard drive) so it can later be read back from that system.  Using cookies is a convenient technique for having the browser remember some specific information.

The Maxwell Web site does not use persistent cookies, i.e., tokens that pass information back and forth from your machine to the server and remain after you close your browser.  The Maxwell Web site does use session cookies, i.e., tokens that remain active only until you close your browser, in order to (make the site easier for you to use).  No database of information obtained from these cookies is kept and when you close your browser, the cookie is deleted from your computer.  The Maxwell Web site uses cookies to save you time in filling out forms, to maintain a relationship between the image and the correct link.

You can chose not to accept these cookies and still use the site, but (you may need to enter the same information repeatedly and clicking on the banners will not take you to the correct page).  The help information in your browser software should provide you with instruction on how to disable cookies.

Circulation

CATEGORY OF USERS
The major user categories are:

  • Active duty military and family members assigned to Maxwell AFB or Gunter AFB.
  • DOD civilians and family members assigned to Maxwell AFB or Gunter AFB.
  • Retired military and family members living within a 50 mile radius of Maxwell AFB.
  • National Guard and Reservists living within a 50 mile radius of Maxwell AFB.
  • For other eligible user categories contact the Circulation desk at 953-2230.

LOAN PERIODS

  • Books --3 weeks 
  • Videos--1 week
  • Varying Loan Periods for Reserve Shelf Items
  • Faculty & Academic Instructors --90 days

RENEWALS

  • Renew by phone or in person. Contact the Circulation Desk at 334-953-2230.
  • Items requested by another patron may not be renewed.

OVERDUE MATERIALS

  • Patrons who have outstanding overdue items are prohibited from borrowing other library materials until the overdue items are either paid for or returned.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR LOST/DAMAGED MATERIALS

  • The person to whom an item is charged is responsible for the return of that item. Check with Circulation Staff if you have lost or damaged center materials. Replacement charges are based on current replacement prices.

HOLDS

  • Contact the Circulation Staff if you wish to place a "hold" on a title that the AU center owns. AU center staff cannot place holds on materials located at the SNCO Academy Library, or the Maxwell or Gunter Community libraries.
  • The Circulation Staff will contact you when an item you placed on hold is available for pick up. The item will be held for you for three work days.

Interlibrary Loan

LOAN OF MATERIALS

  • Muir S. Fairchild Research Information Center (MSFRIC) extends limited extramural services to the libraries of other military schools, agencies and commands. Where possible, these services are also provided to the libraries of U.S. governmental agencies, research institutions and organizations, and, under certain conditions, to non-governmental libraries. Demand bibliographies or extensive research in response to non-AU requests cannot be provided. If extensive library research is required, personnel are invited to visit MSFRIC where guidance and assistance in use of the collection can be provided. The specific provisions of the National Interlibrary Loan Code (NILC) and the following general guidelines apply to the extramural loan of MSFRIC materials.
  • Please complete an online request formIf you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Interlibrary Loan at 953-7223.

BOOKS

  • Subject to demand at MSFRIC
  • Available for 15 days loan from date of receipt of materials by borrower.

PERIODICALS

  • Photocopies of articles from current and bound periodicals are provided when possible and within the limits of copyright law.

DOCUMENTS

  • Unclassified items are available for a seven-day loan and are renewable -- local demand and extra copies permitting.
  • MSFRIC will not loan any publications held in the military documents collection (M-) for which there is only one copy.
  • Reproduction of military documents (M-) by MSFRIC staff for ILL requests is limited to 15 pages.
  • Air University student research papers are available when local demand and extra copies permit, and are limited to five per request. Papers are sent for 15 days loan (extensions not normally allowed).
  • Retention copies of student papers cannot be provided, however, permission to reproduce these papers is granted to military organizations upon request.
  • Organizations wishing to review large numbers of student papers should consider sending representatives to MSFRIC.
  • Security classified items require "need-to-know" justification and assurance of proper handling, as well as the required security clearance through the security office.

Using Classified Documents

Consult MSFRIC's Chief of Administration Security on all matters related to classified center materials.Proper identification is required each time a patron wishes to use a classified document. Upon signing for such materials, the borrower assumes responsibility for their protection under AFI 31-401. Patrons may use the East Wing Document Reading Room to review classified documents. Classified documents must be returned in person to the Document Loan Desk. Wait for their discharge by the assistant to insure that your responsibility is cleared.

Authority Collection

New Air Force Policy Directives and Instructions and a current and historical collection of Air Force regulations, manuals, and pamphlets are located in the new Annex.

Closing Procedures

Closing the building is a complex security procedure begun fifteen minutes in advance of actual closing time. Flashing lights at 20 minutes before the hour signal the beginning of the closing process. Patrons should charge out any materials they wish to take with them at this time.

Accessibility/Section 508