TAKE THE AU LIBRARY ANNUAL SURVEY!
Begin your research by using these suggested keywords as your search terms
(For more precise results, enclose search terms in quotation marks)
"Baby Boomers" ♦ "Generation Jones" ♦ "Generation X" ♦ "Xennials"
"Generation Y" ( also known as "Millennials") ♦ "Generation Z" ♦ "Generation Alpha"
"Young adults" ♦ "Adults" ♦ "Middle aged people" ♦ "Older people"
*.mil access may be required
Some database articles and electronic resources may be available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
Find Air University Research Papers on these topics
"Ageism" ♦ "Age discrimination" ♦ "Age" AND "Stereotypes" ♦ "Age" AND "Workplace"
"Baby boomers" ♦ Millennials ♦ "Generation X" ♦ "Generation Y" ♦ "Generation Z"
*.mil access may be required
Bridging the Generation Gap : How to Get Radio Babies, Boomers, Gen Xers, and Gen Yers to Work Together and Achieve More by
Miscommunication -Employee conflict -Work ethic debates -Loyalty issues -Varying wants and needs -If you are a manager, human resources professional, or business owner, you are faced with these types of issues every day. But why? Because currently, there are five generations in the workplace: Radio Babies (born during 1930-1945); Baby Boomers (1946-1964); Generation X (1965-1976); Generation Y (1977-1991); even some Millennials (1991 and later). Each of them has a different perspective, based on their upbringing and daily lives. The key to making encounters between the generations successful is learning to understand the point of view of each generation and respect their differences.The individuals and organizations that do this will be the ones to succeed. This book will show you how. Authors Gravett and Throckmorton take a dynamic approach to the situation by writing in two distinct voices--as a Baby Boomer and a Gen-Xer--using a "point-counterpoint" approach to identify differences and similarities across generations.They share hands-on experiences, real-life cases, recommended solutions, and ground-breaking research on how members of any generation can better relate to minimize conflict, miscommunication, and wasted energy. You will learn what each generation thinks of the others and how each wishes the others viewed it.Bridging the Generation Gap is filled with strategies and solutions you can implement immediately to help build your own bridge between the generations.
Handbook of Communication and Aging Research by
This second edition of the Handbook of Communication and Aging Research captures the ever-changing and expanding domain of aging research. Since it was first recognized that there is more to social aging than demography, gerontology has needed a communication perspective. Like the first edition, this handbook sets out to demonstrate that aging is not only an individual process but an interactive one. The study of communication can lead to an understanding of what it means to grow old. We may age physiologically and chronologically, but our social aging--how we behave as social actors toward others, and even how we align ourselves with or come to understand the signs of difference or change as we age--are phenomena achieved primarily through communication experiences. Synthesizing the vast amount of research that has been published on communication and aging in numerous international outlets over the last three decades, the book's contributors include scholars from North America and the United Kingdom who are active researchers in the perspectives covered in their particular chapter. Many of the chapters work to deny earlier images of aging as involving normative decrement to provide a picture of aging as a process of development involving positive choices and providing new opportunities. A recuring theme in many chapters is that of the heterogeneity of the group of people who are variously categorized as older, aged, elderly, or over 65. The contributors review the literature analytically, in a way that reveals not only current theoretical and methodological approaches to communication and aging research but also sets the future agenda. This handbook will be of great interest to scholars and researchers in gerontology, developmental psychology, and communication, and, in this updated edition, will continue to play a key role in the study of communication and aging.
Leading Generation Y by 
Lost Knowledge : Confronting the Threat of an Aging Workforce by
Executives today recognize that their firms face a wave of retirements over the next decade as the baby boomers hit retirement age. At the other end of the talent pipeline, the younger workforce is developing a different set of values and expectations, which creates new recruiting and employeeretention issues. The evolution from an older, traditional, highly-experienced workforce to a younger, more mobile, employee base poses significant challenges, particularly when considered in the context of the long-term orientation towards downsizing and cost cutting. This is a solution-orientedbook to address one of the most pressing management problems of the coming years: How do organizations transfer the critical expertise and experience of their employees before that knowledge walks out the door? It begins by outlining the broad issues and providing tools for developing aknowledge-retention strategy and function. It then goes on to outline best practices for retaining knowledge, including knowledge transfer practices, using technology to enable knowledge retention, retaining older workers and retirees, and outsourcing lost capabilities.
The M-Factor : How the Millenial Generation is Rocking the Workplace by
From Lynne C. Lancaster and David Stillman, the nationally recognized generational experts and authors of When Generations Collide, comes the definitive guide to "Millennials" (those born between 1982 and 2000) in the workplace--what they want, how they think, and how to unlock their talents to your organization's advantage. If you enjoyed the insights in It's Okay to Be the Boss, you need to read The M-Factor, destined to become "the" business book on this Millennial generation in the workplace.
The Millennial Generation : Implications for the Intelligence and Policy Communities by
In 2015, for the first time, millennials outnumbered baby boomers as the largest generational segment of the U.S. population. This report describes how the intelligence community must engage millennials across multiple segments to succeed in the future: millennials as intelligence clients, employees, and partners and as members of the public.
Millennials and Management : the Essential Guide to Making It Work at Work by
As management ages and prepares to work longer than previous generations and Millennials join companies at steady rate, companies are suffering through tension and dissonance between Millennials and Boomers, and realizing that they can't just wait for management to age out to fix it. Finding productive ways to work across the generation gap is essential, and the organizations that do this well will have significant strategic advantages over those that don't. Millennials & Management: The Essential Guide to Making It Work at Work addresses a very real concern of large and small businesses nationwide: how to motivate, collaborate with, and manage the millennial generation, who now make up almost 50% of the American workforce. The key is to change Boomer attitudes from disbelief and derision to acceptance and respect without giving up work standards. Using real world examples, author Lee Caraher gives leaders data-driven steps to take to co-create a productive workplace for today and tomorrow.
Millennials in America by
This publication provides a wide range of characteristics profiling the demographic, social, and economic status of the millennial generation. While the Baby Boom generation occupies much of our social and political dialogue, the millennial generation is actually a larger generation. As the Boomers age, their numbers will decrease while the millennials will be the driving social and political force in the coming decades. This book will focus on the those born between about 1982-2001. Millennials in America is an invaluable source for helping people understand what the census data tells us about who we are, what we do, and where we live. Benefits of this publication include: -It will fill an information gap because of the difficulty in extracting comparative data from the Census Bureau's American FactFinder dissemination system. -Users will have comparative data in a single reference volume. -It will eliminate the need for the data user to understand and manipulate detailed census data files and consolidate disparate tables in AFF. -This publication utilizes the PUMS data which is the ONLY source of data that can be used to define precise age ranges for the Millennial generation. The age detail available for census summary data simply aren't adequate for defining the Millennials and therefore prohibit compilation of characteristics specific to this important generation. Features of this publication include: -Detailed data on 11 subject areas including race, educational attainment, field of study, income, mobility status, employment status, housing, and more -Each subject area includes data for the United States, the 50 states and the District of Columbia, 622 counties, 331 cities, 381 metropolitan areas and 34 micropolitan areas. -Each part is preceded by highlights, maps, and figures illustrating how areas diverge from the national norm as well as differences among areas.
The Next America : Boomers, Millennials, and the Looming Generational Showdown by
The America of the near future will look nothing like the America of the recent past.America is in the throes of a demographic overhaul. Huge generation gaps have opened up in our political and social values, our economic well-being, our family structure, our racial and ethnic identity, our gender norms, our religious affiliation, and our technology use.Today's Millennials,well-educated, tech savvy, underemployed twenty-somethings,are at risk of becoming the first generation in American history to have a lower standard of living than their parents. Meantime, more than 10,000 Baby Boomers are retiring every single day, most of them not as well prepared financially as they'd hoped. This graying of our population has helped polarize our politics, put stresses on our social safety net, and presented our elected leaders with a daunting challenge: How to keep faith with the old without bankrupting the young and starving the future.Every aspect of our demography is being fundamentally transformed. By mid-century, the population of the United States will be majority non-white and our median age will edge above 40,both unprecedented milestones. But other rapidly-aging economic powers like China, Germany, and Japan will have populations that are much older. With our heavy immigration flows, the US is poised to remain relatively young. If we can get our spending priorities and generational equities in order, we can keep our economy second to none. But doing so means we have to rebalance the social compact that binds young and old. In tomorrow's world, yesterday's math will not add up.Drawing on Pew Research centre's extensive archive of public opinion surveys and demographic data, The Next America is a rich portrait of where we are as a nation and where we're headed,toward a future marked by the most striking social, racial, and economic shifts the country has seen in a century.
Postmodern Chapel Services for Generation X and Millennial Generation Solders by 
Surviving the Talent Exodus : Navigate the Perfect Storm for Generational Change in the Workplace by 
What Millennials Want from Work: How to Maximize Engagement in Today's Workforce by
The most comprehensive, in-depth look at Millennials to date--essential for managers, HR professionals, and global business leaders seeking to align long-term organizational goals with the realities of the new workforce Millennials have been burdened with a reputation as spoiled, lazy, and entitled, but the reality behind the stereotype is far richer and more complex. Who are Millennials and what do they really want? Based on fieldwork and survey data from global research on more than 25,000 Millennials and 29,000 older workers in 22 countries, this book paints a comprehensive, scientifically accurate picture of what really motivates Millennials around the world. Learn how to get the most from Millennials by: * Improving workplace flexibility--because Millennials don't separate life and work * Providing adequate support and feedback--because Millennials like to learn and grow * Coaching, not micromanaging--because Millennials value autonomy * Designing competitive salary structures--because Millennials know what's up * Providing opportunities to contribute to society--because Millennials care about doing good Millennials want a satisfying job that pays well, coworkers they like and trust, advancement opportunities, and the occasional pat on the back. Who doesn't want those things? This essential book explains who Millennials really are, and offers practical advice to help those who manage, lead, and work with Millennials to improve teamwork, increase productivity, strengthen organizational culture, and build a robust talent pipeline. Jennifer J. Deal is a senior research scientist at the Center for Creative Leadership and an affiliated research scientist at the Center for Effective Organizations at the University of Southern California. Alec Levenson is a senior research scientist at the Center for Effective Organizations at the Marshall School of Business at the University of Southern California.
When Generations Collide : Who They Are, Why They Clash, How to Solve the Generational Puzzle at Work by
BICKERING. BACK BITING. CLASHING. COLLIDING. JUST ANOTHER DAY AT THE OFFICE... If your workplace sometimes feels like a battlefield and your colleagues sometimes seem like aliens, you are not alone. Today there are four distinct generations of employees glaring at one another from across the conference table, and the potential for conflict and confusion has never been greater. In this insightful, captivating book, generational experts Lynne C. Lancaster and David Stillman shed much-needed light on how to bridge generational gaps at work by understanding the differences that drive generations apart. Traditionalist employees with their "heads down, onward and upward" attitude live out a work ethic that was shaped during the dark days of the Great Depression. Meanwhile, the eighty million Baby Boomers are at a crossroads, trying to balance their overwhelming need to succeed with their desire to slow down and enjoy the fruits of their labor. They alternate between admiration and abhorrence for the chutzpah demonstrated by Generation Xers, who, in addition to feeling as if they have to prove themselves constantly, are chafing under the image of being overly ambitious, disrespectful, and irreverent. Nipping at everyone's heels are the new kids on the block, the Millennials -- with their unique mix of savvy and social conscience, they promise to change yet again the landscape of the workplace. Whether you're a manager, an employee, an entrepreneur, or a skilled professional, you'll derive hands-on, take-home business benefits from understanding this vital form of diversity affecting today's high-performance workplace. Using a wry and practical approach to bottom-line business issues and drawing upon interviews, experiences, and the findings from their national survey, Lancaster and Stillman give you in-depth insights into each generation. With their help, you'll have the tools you need to recruit, retain, motivate, and manage each generation more effectively. And you'll recognize that while -collisions are inevitable, ultimately it's how we manage them that counts.
Find more resources on these topics in the Air University catalog
"Ageism" ♦ "Age discrimination" ♦ "Age" AND "Stereotypes" ♦ "Age" AND "Workplace"
"Baby boomers" ♦ "Generation X" ♦ "Generation Y" ♦ Millennials ♦ "Generation Z"
"Middle aged persons" ♦ "Older people" ♦ "Conflict of generations"
Some electronic resources may be available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
