TAKE THE AU LIBRARY ANNUAL SURVEY!
Begin your research by using these suggested keywords as your search terms
(For more precise results, enclose search terms in quotation marks)
"United States" AND "Armed Forces" AND "Asian Americans"
"United States" AND "Air Force" AND "Asian Americans"
*.mil access may be required
Some database articles and electronic resources are available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
Find Air University Student Papers on These Topics:
Asians ♦ "Asian Americans" ♦ "Asian Americans"
"Chinese Americans" ♦ "Japanese Americans"
*.mil access may be required
American Sutra : a Story of Faith and Freedom in the Second World War by
This groundbreaking history tells the little-known story of how, in one of our country's darkest hours, Japanese Americans fought to defend their faith and preserve religious freedom. The mass incarceration of Japanese Americans during World War II is not only a tale of injustice; it is a moving story of faith. In this pathbreaking account, Duncan Ry??ken Williams reveals how, even as they were stripped of their homes and imprisoned in camps, Japanese American Buddhists launched one of the most inspiring defenses of religious freedom in our nation's history, insisting that they could be both Buddhist and American. Nearly all Americans of Japanese descent were subject to bigotry and accusations of disloyalty, but Buddhists aroused particular suspicion. Government officials, from the White House to small-town mayors, believed that Buddhism was incompatible with American values. Intelligence agencies targeted the Buddhist community for surveillance, and Buddhist priests were deemed a threat to national security. On December 7, 1941, as the bombs fell on Pearl Harbor, Attorney General Francis Biddle issued a warrant to ?take into custody all Japanese? classified as potential national security threats. The first person detained was Bishop Giky?? Kuchiba, leader of the Nishi Hongwanji Buddhist sect in Hawai???i. In the face of discrimination, dislocation, dispossession, and confinement, Japanese Americans turned to their faith to sustain them, whether they were behind barbed wire in camps or serving in one of the most decorated combat units in the European theater. Using newly translated sources and extensive interviews with survivors of the camps and veterans of the war, American Sutra reveals how the Japanese American community broadened our country's conception of religious freedom and forged a new American Buddhism.
Asian American Culture : From Anime to Tiger Moms by
Providing comprehensive coverage of a variety of Asian American cultural forms, including folk tradition, literature, religion, education, politics, sports, and popular culture, this two-volume work is an ideal resource for students and general readers that reveals the historical, regional, and ethnic diversity within specific traditions. An invaluable reference for school and public libraries as well as academic libraries at colleges and universities, this two-volume encyclopedia provides comprehensive coverage of a variety of Asian American cultural forms that enables readers to understand the history, complexity, and contemporary practices in Asian American culture. The contributed entries address the diversity of a group comprising people with geographically discrete origins in the Far East, Southeast Asia, and the Indian subcontinent, identifying the rich variations across the category of Asian American culture that are key to understanding specific cultural expressions while also pointing out some commonalities. Entries are organized alphabetically and cover topics in the arts; education and politics; family and community; gender and sexuality; history and immigration; holidays, festivals, and folk tradition; literature and culture; media, sports, and popular culture; and religion, belief, and spirituality. Entries also broadly cover Asian American origins and history, regional practices and traditions, contemporary culture, and art and other forms of shared expression. Accompanying sidebars throughout serve to highlight key individuals, major events, and significant artifacts and allow readers to better appreciate the Asian American experience. Provides readers with a broad understanding of the variety and commonalities in Asian American culture, enabling a fuller comprehension of Asian American history, experience, and cultural expressions Offers comprehensive, in-depth, and accessibly written coverage that addresses a wide variety of Asian American cultural forms such as folk tradition, literature, religion, education, politics, sports, and popular culture Highlights differences among Asian American cultures and identifies important achievements through biographies of key figures as well as spotlights on historical events, legal cases, and significant artifacts in sidebars Presents sources for more information on the subjects discussed with Further Readings for each entry
Asian Americans : Emerging Minorities by
This book provides concise coverage of the major Asian American groups from both an historical and socio-cultural perspective. Coverage of each major group--Chinese, Japanese, Filipinos, Asian Indians, Koreans, Pacific Islanders, and newer Asian American groups--especially those from Southeast Asia and South Asia--provides readers with a balanced overview of all cultures within US Asian society. Content reflects developments of the late 1990s and includes updated demographic information. For research in sociology, history, and ethnic studies professions.
Asian Americans and Politics : Perspectives, Experiences, Prospects by
Asian Americans have quite recently emerged as an increasingly important force in American politics. In 1996, more than 300 Asian and Pacific Americans were elected to federal, state, and local offices; today, more than 2,000 hold appointive positions in government. Asian American voices have been prominent in policy debates over such matters as education, race relations, and immigration reform. On a more discordant note, a national controversy with racial overtones erupted in 1996-97 over alleged illegal Asian and Asian American campaign contributions and illicit foreign influences on American politics, and in 1999 another controversy arose over allegations that a Chinese American physicist had passed nuclear secrets to the Chinese government. Yet little scholarly attention has been devoted to understanding the engagement of Asian Americans with American politics. This volume of fifteen essays is the first to take a broad-ranging look at the phenomenon. Its contributors are drawn from a variety of disciplines--history, political science, sociology, and urban studies--and from the practical political realm. They discuss such topics as the historical relationship of Asians to American politics, the position of Asian Americans in America's legal and racial landscape, recent Asian American voting behavior and political opinion, politics and the evolving demographics of the Asian American population, current national controversies involving Asian Americans, conclusions drawn from regional and local case studies, and the future of Asian Americans in American politics.
Driven Out : the Forgotten War Against Chinese Americans by
The brutal and systematic “ethnic cleansing” of Chinese Americans in California and the Pacific Northwest in the second half of the nineteenth century is a shocking–and virtually unexplored–chapter of American history.Driven Outunearths this forgotten episode in our nation’s past. Drawing on years of groundbreaking research, Jean Pfaelzer reveals how, beginning in 1848, lawless citizens and duplicitous politicians purged dozens of communities of thousands of Chinese residents–and how the victims bravely fought back. In town after town, as races and classes were pitted against one another in the raw and anarchistic West, Chinese miners and merchants, lumberjacks and field workers, prostitutes and merchants’ wives, were gathered up at gunpoint and marched out of town, sometimes thrown into railroad cars along the very tracks they had built. Here, in vivid detail, are unforgettable incidents such as the torching of the Chinatown in Antioch, California, after Chinese prostitutes were accused of giving seven young men syphilis, and a series of lynchings in Los Angeles bizarrely provoked by a Chinese wedding. From the port of Seattle to the mining towns in California’s Siskiyou Mountains to “Nigger Alley” in Los Angeles, the first Chinese Americans were hanged, purged, and banished. Chinatowns across the West were burned to the ground. But the Chinese fought back: They filed the first lawsuits for reparations in the United States, sued for the restoration of their property, prosecuted white vigilantes, demanded the right to own land, and, years before Brown v. Board of Education,won access to public education for their children. Chinese Americans organized strikes and vegetable boycotts in order to starve out towns that tried to expel them. They ordered arms from China and, with Winchester rifles and Colt revolvers, defended themselves. In 1893, more than 100,000 Chinese Americans refused the government’s order to wear photo identity cards to prove their legal status–the largest mass civil disobedience in United States history to that point. Driven Outfeatures riveting characters, both heroic and villainous, white and Asian. Charles McGlashen, a newspaper editor, spearheaded a shift in the tactics of persecution, from brutality to legal boycotts of the Chinese, in order to mount a run for governor of California. Fred Bee, a creator of the Pony Express, became the Chinese consul and one of the few attorneys willing to defend the Chinese. Lum May, a dry goods store owner, saw his wife dragged from their home and driven insane. President Grover Cleveland, hoping that China’s 400,000 subjects would buy the United States out of its economic crisis, persuaded China to abandon the overseas Chinese in return for a trade treaty. Quen Hing Tong, a merchant, sought an injunction against the city of San Jose in an important precursor to today’s suits against racial profiling and police brutality. InDriven Out, Jean Pfaelzer sheds a harsh light on America’s past. This is a story of hitherto unknown racial pogroms, purges, roundups, and brutal terror, but also a record of valiant resistance and community. This deeply resonant and eye-opening work documents a significant and disturbing episode in American history.
Korean American Pioneer Aviators : the Willows Airmen by
Korean American Pioneer Aviators: The Willows Airmen is the untold story of the brave Korean men who took to the skies more than twenty years before the Tuskegee Airmen fought in World War II. The tale of the Willows Aviation School connects Korean, American, and Korean American aviation history. The book also correctly identifies the first Korean aviator and ties the origin of the Korean Air Force to the Korean American community who started the Willows Aviation School in 1920.
The Making of Asian America : a History by
The definitive history of Asian Americans by one of the nation's preeminent scholars on the subject. In the past fifty years, Asian Americans have helped change the face of America and are now the fastest growing group in the United States. But as award-winning historian Erika Lee reminds us, Asian Americans also have deep roots in the country. The Making of Asian America tells the little-known history of Asian Americans and their role in American life, from the arrival of the first Asians in the Americas to the present-day. An epic history of global journeys and new beginnings, this book shows how generations of Asian immigrants and their American-born descendants have made and remade Asian American life in the United States: sailors who came on the first trans-Pacific ships in the 1500s; indentured "coolies" who worked alongside African slaves in the Caribbean; and Chinese, Japanese, Filipino, Korean, and South Asian immigrants who were recruited to work in the United States only to face massive racial discrimination, Asian exclusion laws, and for Japanese Americans, incarceration during World War II. Over the past fifty years, a new Asian America has emerged out of community activism and the arrival of new immigrants and refugees. No longer a "despised minority," Asian Americans are now held up as America's "model minorities" in ways that reveal the complicated role that race still plays in the United States. Published to commemorate the fiftieth anniversary of the passage of the United States' Immigration and Nationality Act of 1965 that has remade our "nation of immigrants," this is a new and definitive history of Asian Americans. But more than that, it is a new way of understanding America itself, its complicated histories of race and immigration, and its place in the world today.
The Other One Percent : Indians in America by
One of the most remarkable stories of immigration in the last half century is that of Indians to the United States. People of Indian origin make up a little over one percent of the American population now, up from barely half a percent at the turn of the millennium. Not only has its recent growth been extraordinary, but this population from a developing nation with low human capital is now the most-educated and highest-income group in the world's most advanced nation. The Other One Percent is a careful, data-driven, and comprehensive account of the three core processes-selection, assimilation, and entrepreneurship-that have led to this rapid rise. This unique phenomenon is driven by-and, in turn, has influenced-wide-ranging changes, especially the on-going revolution in information technology and its impact on economic globalization, immigration policies in the U.S., higher education policies in India, and foreign policies of both nations. If the overall picture is one of economic success, the details reveal the critical issues faced by Indian immigrants stemming from the social, linguistic, and class structure in India, their professional and geographic distribution in the U.S., their pan-Indian and regional identities, their strong presence in both high-skill industries (like computers and medicine) and low-skill industries (like hospitality and retail trade), and the multi-generational challenges of a diverse group from the world's largest democracy fitting into its oldest.
Peoples of the World. Asians and Pacific Islanders : the Culture, Geographical Setting, and Historical Background of 41 Asian and Pacific Island Peoples by
This volume offers insight into early and contemporary cultures of 27 countries in Asia and the Pacific Islands. Essays cover each culture's history, language and geographical location. A wide variety of cultures, including ancient Manchu and modern Gurkha from Nepal, are covered.
Routledge Handbook of the South Asian Diaspora by
South Asia's diaspora is among the world's largest and most widespread, and it is growing exponentially. It is estimated that over 25 million persons of Indian descent live abroad; and many more millions have roots in other countries of the subcontinent, in Pakistan, Bangladesh and Sri Lanka. There are 3 million South Asians in the UK and approximately the same number resides in North America. South Asians are an extremely significant presence in Southeast Asia and Africa, and increasingly visible in the Middle East. Now available in paperback, this inter-disciplinary handbook on the South Asian diaspora brings together contributions by leading scholars and rising stars on different aspects of its history, anthropology and geography, as well as its contemporary political and socio-cultural implications. The Handbook is split into five main sections, with chapters looking at mobile South Asians in the early modern world before moving on to discuss diaspora in relation to empire, nation, nation state and the neighbourhood, and globalisation and culture. Contributors highlight how South Asian diaspora has influenced politics, business, labour, marriage, family and culture. This much needed and pioneering venture provides an invaluable reference work for students, scholars and policy makers interested in South Asian Studies.
Find resources on this topic in the Air University Library Catalog
"Asians" ♦ "Amerasians" ♦ "Asian Americans"
"Japanese Americans" ♦ "Chinese Americans" ♦ "Korean Americans" ♦ "Pacific Islanders" ♦ "East Indian Americans"
"United States" AND "Armed Forces" AND "Asian Americans" ♦ "United States" AND "Air Force" AND "Asian Americans"
Some electronic resources may be available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowAsian Pacific American Heritage Month
The Department of Defense recognizes the month of May as Asian Pacific American Heritage month honoring the contribution of Asian Pacific Americans through out our history. (U.S. Marine Corps video by Sgt. James R. Skelton)
Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month 2020
Lt. Col. Landon is a squadron commander, a pilot, an Airman, a father, a legacy and an Asian American; who knows he wouldn’t be where he is today without his forefathers. For Asian Pacific American Heritage Month, Landon shared why the celebration of cultural differences not only marks the accomplishments of our past, but also inspires the next generations to keep making our world better.
Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month Appreciation Video - Asian Americans Contributions in World War II
NPASE celebrates Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month with this video highlighting those who paid the ultimate sacrifice to their country.
Love Your Culture
Diana Lemusu-Ioane is an Asian American Pacific Islander working as the Property Book Officer for the United States Army Garrison Benelux and the 405th Army Fires Support BDE Logistics Readiness Center, Chievres, Belgium. In May she celebrates Asian American and Pacific Islander Heritage month.
Importance of Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month PSA
U.S. Army Captain Ruta Fogavai, Support Operations Officer, 304th Sustainment Brigade, discusses the importance of Asian American Pacific Islander Heritage Month to Soldiers and family members of the 304th Sustainment Brigade at Camp Arifjan, Kuwait on May 8, 2020 (U.S. Army Video by Staff Sgt. Ron Keenan and Staff Sgt. Michael Aranda)
