TAKE THE AU LIBRARY ANNUAL SURVEY!
Â
Â
Begin your research by using these suggested keywords as your search terms
(For more precise results, enclose search terms in quotation marks)
*.mil access may be required
Some database articles and electronic resources may be available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
Find Air University Research Papers on these topics
"Women" ♦ "Sex discrimination" ♦ "Feminism" ♦ "Females"
"Women" AND "Military" ♦ "Women" AND "War" ♦ "Women in combat"
"Women soldiers" ♦ "Air Force" AND "Women"
*.mil access may be required
Department of the Air Force women, peace, & security strategic action plan
Women, Peace, & Security in Professional Military Education by 
Women and the Military by
This addition to the Women and Society around the World series explores the roles, challenges, and accomplishments of women in the military in countries across the globe. Around the world, millions of men serve in their countries' militaries, be it on land, on the seas, or in the air. But while many militaries have opened all positions to women, even those on the front lines, others remain closed. Countries have cited a number of reasons for their policies, including changing views of women and the military, conscription, and economic and demographic trends. Written by a professor of comparative politics at the United States Military Academy at West Point and an active duty army major, this book seeks to provide an understanding of women's roles in militaries around the world. The book is organized by region, exploring societal and cultural views of masculinity and war, as well as factors influencing changing views of women and the military, including conscription and economic and demographic trends. Topics also include sexual harassment, recruitment, and views on women's physicality and strength. High school students, undergraduates, and general readers will find this cross-cultural study a fascinating and important resource. Provides readers with an overview of women's roles in militaries across the globe Explores the integration of women into the combat arms in several countries Provides historical background on the topic of women and the military in order to help readers better understand circumstances today Offers interesting and insightful information in sidebars placed throughout the text to make the reader's experience more enriching Provides readers with at-a-glance information of the history of women and the military around the world in a chronology Illustrates and supports the text in photographs
Addressing Barriers to Female Officer Retention in the Air Force by
This report documents the results of a qualitative study designed to better understand the factors that female Air Force officers consider when deciding whether to remain in the active duty Air Force. It describes the key retention factors identified through focus groups and provides recommendations for improving Air Force policies and programs to help address potential barriers and improve female officer retention.
Because of Sex : One Law, Ten Cases, and Fifty Years That Changed American Women's Lives at Work by
"Meticulously researched and rewarding to read...Thomas is a gifted storyteller." --The New York Times Book Review Best known as a monumental achievement of the civil rights movement, the 1964 Civil Rights Act also revolutionized the lives of America's working women. Title VII of the law made it illegal to discriminate "because of sex." But that simple phrase didn't mean much until ordinary women began using the law to get justice on the job--and some took their fights all the way to the Supreme Court. Among them were Ida Phillips, denied an assembly line job because she had a preschool-age child; Kim Rawlinson, who fought to become a prison guard--a "man's job"; Mechelle Vinson, who brought a lawsuit for sexual abuse before "sexual harassment" even had a name; Ann Hopkins, denied partnership at a Big Eight accounting firm because the men in charge thought she needed "a course at charm school"; and most recently, Peggy Young, UPS truck driver, forced to take an unpaid leave while pregnant because she asked for a temporary reprieve from heavy lifting. These unsung heroines' victories, and those of the other women profiled in Gillian Thomas'Because of Sex, dismantled a "Mad Men" world where women could only hope to play supporting roles; where sexual harassment was "just the way things are"; and where pregnancy meant getting a pink slip. Through first-person accounts and vivid narrative,Because of Sextells the story of how one law, our highest court, and a few tenacious women changed the American workplace forever.
The Correspondents by
The riveting, untold history of a group of heroic women reporters who revolutionized the narrative of World War II--from Martha Gellhorn, who out-scooped her husband, Ernest Hemingway, to Lee Miller, a Vogue cover model turned war correspondent. "Thrilling from the first page to the last." --Mary Gabriel, author of Ninth Street Women "Just as women are so often written out of war, so it seems are the female correspondents. Mackrell corrects this omission admirably with stories of six of the best...Mackrell has done us all a great service by assembling their own fascinating stories." --New York Times Book Review On the front lines of the Second World War, a contingent of female journalists were bravely waging their own battle. Barred from combat zones and faced with entrenched prejudice and bureaucratic restrictions, these women were forced to fight for the right to work on equal terms with men. The Correspondents follows six remarkable women as their lives and careers intertwined: Martha Gellhorn, who got the scoop on Ernest Hemingway on D-Day by traveling to Normandy as a stowaway on a Red Cross ship; Lee Miller, who went from being a Vogue cover model to the magazine's official war correspondent; Sigrid Schultz, who hid her Jewish identity and risked her life by reporting on the Nazi regime; Virginia Cowles, a "society girl columnist" turned combat reporter; Clare Hollingworth, the first English journalist to break the news of World War II; and Helen Kirkpatrick, the first woman to report from an Allied war zone with equal privileges to men. From chasing down sources and narrowly dodging gunfire to conducting tumultuous love affairs and socializing with luminaries like Eleanor Roosevelt, Picasso, and Man Ray, these six women are captured in all their complexity. With her gripping, intimate, and nuanced portrait, Judith Mackrell celebrates these courageous reporters who risked their lives for the scoop.
Can We Explain Gender Differences in Officer Career Progression? by 
Double Victory : How African American Women Broke Race and Gender Barriers to Help Win World War II by
2014 Amelia Bloomer Top Ten List Double Victory tells the stories of African American women who did extraordinary things to help their country during World War II. In these pages young readers meet a range of remarkable women: war workers, political activists, military women, volunteers, and entertainers. Some, such as Mary McLeod Bethune and Lena Horne, were celebrated in their lifetimes and are well known today. But many others fought discrimination at home and abroad in order to contribute to the war effort yet were overlooked during those years and forgotten by later generations. Double Victory recovers the stories of these courageous women, such as Hazel Dixon Payne, the only woman to serve on the remote Alaska-Canadian Highway; Deverne Calloway, a Red Cross worker who led a protest at an army base in India; and Betty Murphy Phillips, the only black female overseas war correspondent. Offering a new and diverse perspective on the war and including source notes and a bibliography, Double Victory is an invaluable addition to any student's or history buff's bookshelf.
An analysis of the psychosocial development of the female strategic leader
Gendering Nationalism : Intersections of Nation, Gender, and Sexuality by
This volume offers an empirically rich, theoretically informed study of the shifting intersections of nation/alism, gender and sexuality. Challenging a scholarly legacy that has overly focused on the masculinist character of nationalism, it pays particular attention to the people and issues less commonly considered in the context of nationalist projects, namely women and sexual minorities. Bringing together both established and emerging researchers from across the globe, this multidisciplinary and comparison-rich volume provides a multi-sited exploration of the shifting contours of belonging and Otherness generated by multifarious nationalisms. The diverse, and context specific positionings of men and women, masculinities and femininities, and hegemonic and non-normative sexualities, vis-Ă -vis nation/alism, are illuminated through a vibrant array of contemporary theoretical lenses. These include historical and feminist institutionalism, post-colonial theory, critical race approaches, transnational and migration theory and semiotics.
Gender Roles by
This essential volume explores whether gender roles are important, how gender roles affect parenting and reproduction, how gender roles affect the workplace, and how gender roles are changing. Essays are selected from a wide range of highly respected and often hard-to-find sources and publications. By choosing from such diverse sources and including both popular and unpopular views, readers are exposed to many sides of a debate, which promotes issue awareness as well as critical thinking. Essay sources include Gender Spectrum, Mackubin Thomas Owens, Brenda Zurita, and Fredric Neuman.
Glory in Their Spirit : How Four Black Women Took on the Army During World War II by
Before Rosa Parks and the March on Washington, four African American women risked their careers and freedom to defy the United States Army over segregation. Women Army Corps (WAC) privates Mary Green, Anna Morrison, Johnnie Murphy, and Alice Young enlisted to serve their country, improve their lives, and claim the privileges of citizenship long denied them. Promised a chance at training and skilled positions, they saw white WACs assigned to those better jobs and found themselves relegated to work as orderlies. In 1945, their strike alongside fifty other WACs captured the nation's attention and ignited passionate debates on racism, women in the military, and patriotism. Glory in Their Spirit presents the powerful story of their persistence and the public uproar that ensued. Newspapers chose sides. Civil rights activists coalesced to wield a new power. The military, meanwhile, found itself increasingly unable to justify its policies. In the end, Green, Morrison, Murphy, and Young chose court-martial over a return to menial duties. But their courage pushed the segregated military to the breaking point "and helped steer one of American's most powerful institutions onto a new road toward progress and justice.
Improving Gender Diversity in the U. S. Coast Guard : Identifying Barriers to Female Retention by
This report documents the results of a study designed to identify the root causes of female attrition in the active-duty Coast Guard. The study analyzed trends in retention data and conducted focus groups with over 1,100 active-duty Coast Guard members. The report describes key retention factors identified through these analyses and provides recommendations for addressing identified barriers to Coast Guard female retention.
Invisible Veterans: What Happens When Military Women Become Civilians Again by
Spotlights the challenges faced by our increasing cadre of military women when their service ends and they become civilians. * Spotlights personal experiences of female veterans through interviews * Includes cutting-edge research on obstacles female veterans face and solutions * Addresses emotional, physical, sexual, social, and financial health issues for female veterans who are single, married, divorced, mothers, culture-diverse, mid-life, and elderly * Includes text on resilience for female veterans and how some are becoming leaders in business, politics, and advocacy
The Moment of Lift : How Empowering Women Changes the World by
NEW YORK TIMESBESTSELLER "In her book, Melinda tells the stories of the inspiring people she's met through her work all over the world, digs into the data, and powerfully illustrates issues that need our attention--from child marriage to gender inequity in the workplace." -- President Barack Obama "The Moment of Liftis an urgent call to courage. It changed how I think about myself, my family, my work, and what's possible in the world. Melinda weaves together vulnerable, brave storytelling and compelling data to make this one of those rare books that you carry in your heart and mind long after the last page." -- Brené Brown, Ph.D., author of theNew York Times #1 bestsellerDare to Lead "Melinda Gates has spent many years working with women around the world. This book is an urgent manifesto for an equal society where women are valued and recognized in all spheres of life. Most of all, it is a call for unity, inclusion and connection. We need this message more than ever." -- Malala Yousafzai "Melinda Gates's book is a lesson in listening. A powerful, poignant, and ultimately humble call to arms." -- Tara Westover, author of theNew York Times #1 bestsellerEducated A debut from Melinda Gates, a timely and necessary call to action for women's empowerment. "How can we summon a moment of lift for human beings - and especially for women? Because when you lift up women, you lift up humanity." For the last twenty years, Melinda Gates has been on a mission to find solutions for people with the most urgent needs, wherever they live. Throughout this journey, one thing has become increasingly clear to her: If you want to lift a society up, you need to stop keeping women down. In this moving and compelling book, Melinda shares lessons she's learned from the inspiring people she's met during her work and travels around the world. As she writes in the introduction, "That is why I had to write this book--to share the stories of people who have given focus and urgency to my life. I want all of us to see ways we can lift women up where we live." Melinda's unforgettable narrative is backed by startling data as she presents the issues that most need our attention--from child marriage to lack of access to contraceptives to gender inequity in the workplace. And, for the first time, she writes about her personal life and the road to equality in her own marriage. Throughout, she shows how there has never been more opportunity to change the world--and ourselves. Writing with emotion, candor, and grace, she introduces us to remarkable women and shows the power of connecting with one another. When we lift others up, they lift us up, too.
No Shortcut to Change : an Unlikely Path to a More Gender-equitable World by
A critical examination of the weaknesses inherent in international gender policy. Gender equality has become a central aspect of global governance and development in the 21st century. States increasingly promote women in government, ensure women's economic rights and protect women from violence, all in the name of creating a more gender equitable world. No Shortcut to Change is a historical, theoretical, and political overview of why the common, liberal-feminist-driven 'shortcut' approach has not actually improved the status of women throughout the world--and why a new approach taking social, racial, and political hierarchies into account alongside gender is sorely needed. This innovative book unites several streams of international relations and feminist theory in pursuit of a practical solution to global gender inequality. She gives an overview of what 'add-women' policymaking looks like and has (or has not) accomplished, examining three key policy areas: - Women's representation- including policies and practices to include more women in all branches of government, such as legislative quotas, which in many countries have been established to ensure enough women are represented in legislative bodies; - The recognition of women's economic rights, like the right for a woman to own property and gainful employment - Combating violence against women, through domestic violence and rape laws, which remains a major problem throughout the world. Ellerby explores how poor implementation, informal practices, gender binaries, and intersectionality remain key issues in addressing women's inclusion policy around the world. Ultimately, she concludes that all of these efforts have been co-opted by global neoliberal institutions, often reinforcing gender differences rather than challenging them. A much-needed critical text on the weaknesses inherent in international gender policy, No Shortcut to Change is an eye-opening overview for anyone interested in gender equality.
Shoot Like a Girl : One Women's Dramatic Fight in Afghanistan and On the Homefront by
"A must-read about an American patriot whose courage and determination will have a lasting impact on the future of our Armed Forces and the nation."--Senator John McCain On July 29, 2009, Air National Guard major Mary Jennings "MJ" Hegar was shot down while on a Medevac mission on her third tour in Afghanistan. Despite being wounded, she fought the enemy and saved the lives of her crew and their patients. But soon she would face a new battle: to give women who serve on the front lines the credit they deserve... After being commissioned into the U.S. Air Force, MJ Hegar was selected for pilot training by the Air National Guard, finished at the top of her class, then served three tours in Afghanistan, flying combat search-and-rescue missions, culminating in a harrowing rescue attempt that would earn MJ the Purple Heart as well as the Distinguished Flying Cross with Valor Device. But it was on American soil that Hegar would embark on her greatest challenge--to eliminate the military's Ground Combat Exclusion Policy, which kept female armed service members from officially serving in combat roles despite their long-standing record of doing so with honor. In Shoot Like a Girl, MJ takes the reader on a dramatic journey through her military career: an inspiring, humorous, and thrilling true story of a brave, high-spirited, and unforgettable woman who has spent much of her life ready to sacrifice everything for her country, her fellow man, and her sense of justice. SOON TO BE A MAJOR MOTION PICTURE INCLUDES PHOTOS
Sisters in Arms : Female Warriors from Antiquity to the New Millennium by
Women who have dressed as men and joined the army or the navy to embark on a grand adventure, to search for a lost husband or simply to escape the dull confines of domestic life, have enjoyed a long and popular tradition in Western culture. In this fascinating book, Julie Wheelwright recreates and explains the fascination of the female warrior which captivated young women and even inspired some to undertake similar exploits. Drawing on memoirs, letters, diaries and historical archives, and illustrating her examples with rare sketches and photographs, she traces the career of dozens of women who lived and fought as men. Christian Davies, Ireland's most famous eighteenth-century soldier, received poems from adoring women who claimed that 'the Amazonian race begins again'. Emma Edmonds, left her fianc and native Canada to fight in the American Civil War; Hannah Snell, a sailor in the Royal Navy; Maria Bockkareva, a private in the Tsar's Army; and Captain Flora Sandes, hero of the Serbian Army who toured Australia, thrilling her audiences with tales of bravery and patriotism, are some of the intriguing and rebellious women of history that Military Women brings to light. The book follows the evolution of the woman in breeches from the height of her popularity in the 1700s to her re-emergence as the nation's pride and joy during the First World War. The later chapters of the book explore the formalisation of the role of women in military roles and whether true equality is ever possible in a military set-up.
Tainted Witness : Why We Doubt That Women Say About Their Lives by
In 1991, Anita Hill's testimony during Clarence Thomas's Senate confirmation hearing brought the problem of sexual harassment to a public audience. Although widely believed by women, Hill was defamed by conservatives and Thomas was confirmed to the Supreme Court. The tainting of Hill and her testimony is part of a larger social history in which women find themselves caught up in a system that refuses to believe what they say. Hill's experience shows how a tainted witness is not who someone is, but what someone can become. Why are women so often considered unreliable witnesses to their own experiences? How are women discredited in legal courts and in courts of public opinion? Why is women's testimony so often mired in controversies fueled by histories of slavery and colonialism? How do new feminist witnesses enter testimonial networks and disrupt doubt? Tainted Witness examines how gender, race, and doubt stick to women witnesses as their testimony circulates in search of an adequate witness. Judgment falls unequally upon women who bear witness, as well-known conflicts about testimonial authority in the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries reveal. Women's testimonial accounts demonstrate both the symbolic potency of women's bodies and speech in the public sphere and the relative lack of institutional security and control to which they can lay claim. Each testimonial act follows in the wake of a long and invidious association of race and gender with lying that can be found to this day within legal courts and everyday practices of judgment, defining these locations as willfully unknowing and hostile to complex accounts of harm. Bringing together feminist, literary, and legal frameworks, Leigh Gilmore provides provocative readings of what happens when women's testimony is discredited. She demonstrates how testimony crosses jurisdictions, publics, and the unsteady line between truth and fiction in search of justice.
Women and Workplace Discrimination : Overcoming Barriers to Gender Equality by
Attorney Raymond F. Gregory addresses the millions of women who think they might be facing sexual discrimination and explains federal measures enacted to assist workers in contesting unlawful employer conduct. He presents actual court cases to demonstrate the ways that women have challenged their employers. The cases illustrate legal principles in real-life experiences. Many of the cases relate compelling stories of workers caught up in a web of employer discriminatory conduct. Gregory has eliminated legal jargon, ensuring that all concepts are clear to his readers. Individuals will turn to this book again and again to obtain authoritative background on this important topic. Topics covered include: The increasing incidence of sexual harassment in the workplace Common forms of sex discrimination Discrimination against older women Discrimination against women of color Discrimination against women in the professions Discrimination against pregnant women Discrimination against women with children Sex discrimination in hiring, promotion, termination Employer liability for workplace sexual harassment Employer retaliation against workers Proving sex discrimination in the courtroom Compensatory and punitive damages Back pay, front pay, and other remedies
Find resources on these topics in the Air University Library catalog
"Women" ♦ "Sex discrimination" ♦ "Feminism" ♦ "Feminists"
"Women" AND "Military" ♦ "Women" AND "War" ♦ "Women" AND "Suffrage"
"Women in combat" ♦ "Women" AND "Combat" ♦ "Women soldiers" ♦ "Air Force" AND "Women"
Some electronic resources may be available to Air University students, faculty, and staff only
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window This link opens in a new windowThe Freedom To Serve - National Character and Leadership Symposium 2023 - Col Eries Mentzer
As our Nation celebrates the 75th Anniversary of the Women’s Armed Services Integration Act and Executive Orders 9980 and 9981 that fully integrated Federal Service and the Armed Forces, Colonel Mentzer discusses Securing the Freedom to Serve: cultivating conditions and removing barriers so all Airmen, Guardians, and their families can rise to their best as part of a fully integrated force.
Videos
Trailblazers: First USAF female UPT graduates
In 1975, the chief of staff of the Air Force announced the establishment of a test program for female pilots and navigators. Although women had already proven their ability to fly military aircraft, such as the WASPs had in World War II, this test program would establish a precedent for the future of Air Force female pilots. The candidates were all Air Force officers from various career fields, including a nurse, engineer, and maintenance officer.
Cannon Celebrates Women's History Month
Women from around Cannon Air Force Base celebrate and honor the female figures, mentors and leaders who have motivated and inspired them through their careers.
Hanscom celebrates Women’s Equality Day
The Hanscom Diversity and Inclusion Cell hosted a virtual Women’s Equality Day event to commemorate the 100th anniversary of the 19th Amendment Aug. 26.
ADAB women speak on women's equality
Women stationed at Al Dhafra Air Base, United Arab Emirates, say what women's equality mean to them and express their thoughts on women's equality in the military.
Regional Health Command - Central Women's Equality Day Observance 2020
The Soldiers at Regional Health Command - Central pay homage to women pioneers throughout the history of our military during their celebration of the 100th anniversary of Women's Equality Day. The Virtual observance includes remarks by Brig. Gen. Wendy Harter, Commanding General of Regional Health Command - Central.
Women in Military Academies: 40 Years Later, Janie Mines
This year marks the 40th anniversary of the graduation of the first women admitted to the military academies. Janie Mines was recently in Washington for an annual Defense Advisory Committee on Women In The Services meeting and spoke to DOD News about her ground-breaking experience.
Podcasts
