Maxwell and the Civil Rights Movement

Websites:

• Alabama Supreme Court and State Law Library
  The official website of the oldest law library in Alabama. The Library provides access to all appellate cases in the United States; all the laws passed by legislatures of the 50 states and the District of Columbia; Acts of Congress; the United States Code; and federal agency regulations.   
• Birmingham Civil Rights Institute 
  The BCRI is here to enlighten each generation about civil and human rights by exploring our common past and working together in the present to build a better future. 
• The Civil Rights Era
  Here exhibits from historic archives explain how the black community experienced this postwar period with desegregation, legal victories, and protest marches.
• Equal Justice Initiative
  The Equal Justice Initiative (EJI) is committed to ending mass incarceration and excessive punishment in the United States, to challenging racial and economic justice, and to protecting basic human rights for the most vulnerable people in American society. 
• Greensboro Sit-Ins

  Heavy television coverage of the Greensboro sit-ins sparked a sit-in movement that spread quickly to college towns throughout the South and into the North, as young blacks and whites joined in various forms of peaceful protest against segregation in libraries, beaches, hotels and other establishments.
• National Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture​
  Alabama State University Center for the Study of Civil Rights and African-American Culture is a research institute and repository in Montgomery, Alabama for the collection of civil rights and African-American cultural documents, artifacts, and other memorabilia. 
• National Civil Rights Museum
  The National Civil Rights Museum is one of the nation's premier heritage and cultural museums in Memphis, Tennessee, is steadfast in its mission to share the culture and lessons from the American Civil Rights Movement and explore how this significant era continues to shape equality and freedom globally.
• Rosa and Raymond Parks Institute for Self-Development

  The official web site of the Rosa and Raymond Parks Institute for Self-Development. This organization was co-founded in 1987 by Rosa Parks and Elaine Eason Steele, in honor of Rosa Parks' husband Raymond Parks (1903-1977). In part, its mission is to motivate young people between the ages of 11-17, to reach their full potential.

   
• Student Nonviolent Coordinating Committee

  This web site provides the user with a glimpse into the formation of the Student Nonviolent Coordination Committee (SNCC) over a six year period (1960-1966). The authors of the site provide information on important events that SNCC participated in during its early days. It also gives brief biographical information on the leadership of SNCC.

   
• Tuskegee University Archives: The Chapel Collection
  This project, entitled Addressing the Un-Addressed: Tuskegee University's Hidden Audio Collections, 1957-1971, includes speeches given by important Civil Rights leaders and events. These audio files highlight people and organizations that were instrumental in promoting the modern Civil Rights Movement. 

Media Coverage of the Civil Rights Era:

• Eyes on the Prize: America's Civil Rights Movement, 1954-1985
• How Race is Lived in America-New York Times
• Life Magazine
• The Rise and Fall of Jim Crow
• Television News of the Civil Rights Era,1950-1970

Videos:

• Life: Martin Luther King March on Washington 1963 | The March on Washington, August 1963: Power to the People
• NPR : The March on Washington
• PBS American Experience: Eyes on the Prize: March on Washington