Print Page

Citing Resources: Zotero

April 2020

Zotero Browser Plugins

If you're using Internet Explorer or a mobile browser, you can still save items to your Zotero library. A free Zotero account is required.

Visit the Zotero Bookmarklet page for installation instructions for your particular browser or device. 

The Zotero Bookmarklet works with all desktop browsers and most mobile browsers (including Safari for iPad and the Android browser)

ZoteroBib

Screenshot of the Cite toolbar in ZoteroBib.

Why use ZoteroBiB?

  • The computer you are on won't let you install any software (ie. a .mil computer)
  • You just want a quick citation and not all the fancy features.

How does it work? 

  1. Go to ZBib.org.
  2. In the "Cite" bar, enter either the URL for a web source, the ISBN of a book, the DOI or PMID number of an article, or the title of a source. (Numbers sometimes work better than titles.) If none of those work, you can click Manual Entry and fill in the blanks.
  3. Your bibliography appears on the page as you add sources. Use the blue bar to choose your citation style.
  4. It will create a full length Bibliography that you can edit and delete.
  5. To create an in-text citation or footnote, simply click the copy button to the right of the source and enter the page number you're citing. Then click Copy citation and paste it into your document.
  6. Can I save my work? ZoteroBib stores your work in the browser on the computer you're currently using. If you leave the computer, restart, clear cache, etc then it deletes the bibliography. Get more details about how it works here.

Zotero Connection to AUL Catalog

Zotero allows you to connect to the library catalog and display the Find it @AUL button in some article databases that allows you to locate the full text of an article online. 

AU Only Got Full Text?

To set up Zotero to access the "AU Only Got Full Text?" server, click the gear button on the Zotero toolbar, choose Preferences and select the Advanced tab. At the bottom of the preferences window, paste this url into the "Resolver" box:

http://sfxhosted.exlibrisgroup.com/fairchild/

For additional information check out the Zotero help page.

Zotero Connector Proxy Set Up

The Zotero Connector browser extensions allow you to add items to your Zotero library with the click of a button in Firefox, Chrome, or Safari. This page describes the preferences for the Zotero Connectors. You can access the preferences by right-clicking (Firefox/Chrome) or clicking-and-holding (Safari) on the Zotero save button and choosing “Preferences”.

Air University Library requires you to sign-in to a proxy system to access electronic resources while you are off-campus (http://aufric.idm.oclc.org/login?). The Zotero Connector can make this more convenient. When it detects that you are using an institutional proxy to access a particular site, it will ask if you want to remember it in the future. If you agree, Zotero will automatically use the proxy for matching URLs in the future. You should be routed through the proxy login site if you're not already logged in, then you can access the database as you normally would.

Zotero users can use the proxies feature without ever looking at this preference tab. By default, Zotero will prompt you to store the proxy and then route you through the proxy automatically and without further input.

Zotero proxy redirection is not available in Safari.

Learn more about automatically setting up the Zotero Connector Proxy Preferences.

 

Air University Library | Hours | Contact Us | About Us | Help
Air University Library LinkedIn Twitter Facebook Instagram Air University
Accessibility/Section 508