The SECAF, CSAF, CMSAF, and SPOC periodically publish professional reading lists for Airmen and Guardians. While their sites provide links to purchase books, Air University Library provides free print and online access (when available) for AU students and faculty. See also links to AF foundational documents such as the Blue, Brown, and Purple books. Use the links below to browse the lists and start reading today! Questions? Ask Us!
Access to some AUL resources can require a library login, available only to current Air University students, faculty, and staff. Need a login?
All others may access titles through AF Portal (USAF Military & Civilians), or through your local library via Interlibrary Loan request.
Air University Library provides free, full text access to the Air Force Chief of Staff reading list and archives.
"The Leadership Library will have periodic additions as I come across media and ideas I’d like to share to generate dialogue. My aim is that this Leadership Library sparks conversations for you with fellow Airmen, with your family, and with your friends." -Charles Brown, Jr., Air Force Chief of Staff
Air University Library provides free, full text access to the Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force's reading list and archives.
"We need leaders at all levels who can think strategically, and execute tactically. To that end, I'm bringing you a reading list that will flex and evolve as we build the Air Force we need to compete, deter and win across all domains." -Joanne Bass, Chief Master Sergeant of the Air Force
Air University Library provides free, full text access to the Secretary of the Air Force's reading list and archives.
"As we enter a new era of great power competition, it is crucial that we improve our understanding of our pacing challenge – the People's Republic of China (PRC). To that end, I am publishing a reading list to provide suggested works intended to enhance our knowledge of China’s history, culture, society, strategy, and military modernization program – and their implications for the Air Force and Space Force." -Frank Kendall, Secretary of the Air Force
Air University Library provides free, full text access to the Space Operations Command reading list and archives.
"The 2023 Space Operations Command Commander’s Reading List. Inclusion on the list does not state or imply official support or endorsement for any particular book or author. The list is intended for professional development purposes to stimulate thought and discourse."
These resources equip Airmen with information needed to become highly trained, educated, and adaptable to the threats our competitors present, and the significant role every Airman plays for the mission to be successful.
See more on Air University's Foundational Resources page.