AU Library
Air University Library, founded in 1946, is the premier library in the Department of Defense (DOD). Air University Library primary mission is to support Air University (AU), headquartered at Maxwell AFB, Alabama, which is the lead agent for Air Force professional military education (PME). It houses well-balanced collections especially strong in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. Air University Library holds more than 2.6 million items: 530,000 military documents; over 429,000 monographs and bound periodical volumes; 615,000 maps and charts; 150,000 current regulations/manuals; and over 909,000 microforms. Air University Library also operates a branch library at the US Air Force Senior NCO Academy located at Maxwell AFB, Gunter Annex, Alabama, which provides tailored information collections and services for senior NCO PME.
An active program of bibliographic publications and indexes facilitates access to the library's holdings and information. Air University Library creates current, topic-focused Research Guides and maintains archival access to Special bibliographies. AUL also publishes the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, published since 1949.
Air University Library's reference services include regular research and instructional assistance via email, live chat, or question form. Air University's PME students are provided online access to over 100 full-text databases, which include hundreds of thousands of articles, journals, books, images, videos, statistics, and more. Remote access to subscription research resources is provided to AU PME campus and distance students. Professional librarian support is available to all patrons during hours of operation.
Air University Library is affiliated at the state and local level with the Network of Alabama Academic Libraries (NAAL), which promotes resource sharing and interlibrary loan transactions. The library has a close affiliation and membership with 30 DOD research libraries.
Air University Library connects the Air Force professional to authoritative and relevant information resources through knowledgeable experts and tailored library tools.
We fuel Air Force research and connect the nation's Airmen to information that makes a difference.
ACCESS POLICY
Air University Library's collections and information resources are primarily for the use of Air Force PME students and affiliated faculty. Air University Library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code). As a selective U.S. Government publications depository, Air University Library is open to the general public via sponsorship onto Maxwell AFB by Air Force members assigned to Maxwell/Gunter. Air University Library staff members can only sponsor civilians personally known to them. Non-affiliated civilians desiring physical access to Air University Library, who do not have a sponsor, should contact the Air University Library Director's Office for guidance on submitting a written request for access and credential verification.
AU Library's 2023 Annual Report
AU Library's 2022 Annual Report
