Domestic Terrorism & Extremism: Websites

Disaggregated data collection, analysis & crisis mapping platform. ACLED collects real-time data on the locations, dates, actors, fatalities, and types of all reported political violence and protest events across Africa, the Middle East, Latin America & the Caribbean, East Asia, South Asia, Southeast Asia, Central Asia & the Caucasus, Europe, and the United States of America.

Documents from raid on Osama bin Laden’s compound in Abbottabad, Pakistan.

The program was created to release and analyze captured al-Qa’ida, its associated movement, and other security threats through primary source documents.

Major data collection on war, originally headed by J. David Singer and now Paul Diehl. Click on "Available Data Sets" on the left to get the data. Includes datasets covering COW country codes; inter-state, intra-state, non-state, and extra-state war; militarized interstate disputes; national material capabilities; alliances; contiguity; territorial change; IGOs; and bilateral trade.

The CEP is an international policy organization the tracks extremist groups and their networks

Identifies, compiles, and analyzes micro-level conflict data on insurgency, civil war, and other political violence worldwide.
demography/socioeconomics, geography, infrastructure, public opinion, violence data in GIS and tabular forms
Afghanistan, Colombia, Iraq, Mexico, Pakistan, Philippines, Vietnam
links to external data repositories for the countries covered

From the Southern Poverty Law Center: The Extremist Files database contains profiles of various prominent extremists and extremist organizations. It also examines the histories and core beliefs – or ideologies – of the most common types of extremist movements.

The site contains links for resources Statements Indexes for both al-Qaeda Statements ISIS Statements.

Southern Poverty Law Center

"The Independent Reviewer’s role is to inform the public and political debate on anti-terrorism law in the United Kingdom, in particular through regular reports..."

An excellent resource for exploring the UK's terrorism legislation

The International Centre for Counter-Terrorism – The Hague (ICCT) is an independent think and do tank providing multidisciplinary policy advice and practical, solution-oriented implementation support on prevention and the rule of law, two vital pillars of effective counter-terrorism.

"INTERPOL is the world’s largest international police organization, with 194 member countries."

This site contains over 15,000 pages of documents captured from the Islamic State (previously known as ISIS)

This is a clearinghouse for jihādī primary source material, original analysis, and translation service

Traces the evolution of militant organizations and their interactions over time. Features:
interactive maps chart relationships among groups over time
individual maps for Syria, Iraq, Italy, North Caucasus, Philippines, Somalia, and Pakistan
global maps of the Islamic State and Al Qaeda
in-depth profiles of individual groups
covers group size, formation, ideology, activity, leaders, resources, ties to other groups, and community relationships

Open source catalog of worldwide incidents involving the acquisition, possession, threat and use of weapons of mass destruction (WMD) by sub-state actors.

Areas of coverage include: Al-Qaida Leadership, Iraqi Insurgent groups, Afghanistan, Israel/Palestinian, Pakistan and more. Unfortunately the original site is not longer available but much of it was captured by the Internet Archive.

A series of videos from the PBS show "Frontline"; they include personal narratives of the perpetrators.

"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."

A spatio-temporal grid structure allowing for consistent comparisons in studying conflict composed of 0.5x0.5 decimal degree grid cells that cover all terrestrial areas of the world.

Coverage is for 1968-2009

Features descriptive profiles on more than 100 terrorist groups. Also includes entries on key individuals, tactics/methods, culture/ideology, and more.

SCAD includes protests, riots, strikes, inter-communal conflict, government violence against civilians, and other forms of social conflict not systematically tracked in other conflict datasets. SCAD currently includes information on thousands of events from 1990 to 2017, covering all of Africa, Mexico, Central America, and the Caribbean.

The focus is on terrorism and low intensity conflict in South Asia.

from the U.S. Library of Congress

Major collection of terrorism profiles, news, analysis, and primary sources.
profiles of more than 4,600 terrorists, terrorists groups, lone wolves, hate groups, and abettors of political violence
content can be browsed by ideology, tactics, target, group, or region
profiles of vulnerable regions and cities
analytical essays on groups, trends, and developments
live feed of terrorism news and archives of text and video primary sources
access to a large consortium of political violence experts worldwide

Repository of micro-level, subnational event data on armed conflict and contention around the world that combines multiple open-source data collections in one comprehensive electronic archive. Currently includes data on armed conflict and contention from 156 countries (1969-2017), from 21 data sources, including both large data collections and individual scholars. xSub organizes these data into common units of analysis, by space (country, province, district, grid cell, electoral constituency) and time (year, month, week, day). Data in .csv and also available through an R package.

"Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service."

US Dept of State - previously published as Patterns of Global Terrorism

From the U.S. Homeland Security department: Look on left menu there for more: "Terrorism as an insider threat is an unlawful use of force and violence by employees or others closely associated with organizations, against those organizations to promote a political or social objective. In particular, insiders will use their familiarity of an organization's structure, security, building layout, and other knowledge to maximize casualties or sabotage systems. "

Current list of "Designated Foreign Terrorist Organizations" as determined by the Sec of State.

The mission of the Joint Counterterrorism Assessment Team (JCAT) is to improve information sharing and enhance public safety. In coordination with the FBI and DHS, JCAT collaborates with other members of the Intelligence Community to research, produce, and disseminate counterterrorism intelligence products for federal, state, local, tribal, and territorial government (SLTT) agencies and the private sector and advocates for the counterterrorism intelligence requirements and needs of these partners throughout the Intelligence Community.

National Terrorism Advisory System (NTAS) advisories communicate information about terrorist threats by providing timely, detailed information to the public, government agencies, first responders, public sector organizations, airports and other transportation hubs.

Congress charged the United States Institute of Peace, an independent, bipartisan leader in reducing and preventing conflict, with convening the Task Force on Extremism in Fragile States.

The U.S. Agency for International Development (USAID) is an international leader in violence prevention and countering violent extremism (CVE).

UNCLASSIFIED SUMMARY OF ASSESSMENT ON DOMESTIC VIOLENT EXTREMISM