AU Library
General George C. Kenney served as the first commander of the Strategic Air Command from March 21, 1946 to October 15, 1948. After relinquishing command at SAC, General Kenney assumed command of Air University, and served as its commander until his retirement from the Air Force on August 31, 1951
(USAF Photo)
General Curtis E. Lemay served as the second commander of the Strategic Air Command from October 19, 1948 to June 30, 1957. General LeMay built an all-jet bomber force at SAC, and under his leadership and supervision, plans were laid for the development and integration of an intercontinental ballistic missile capacity. In July 1957, General LeMay was appointed vice chief of staff of the Air Force and was appointed Chief of Staff of the Air Force in July 1961. General LeMay retired from the Air Force in 1965
(USAF Photo)
General Thomas S. Power served as the third the commander of the Strategic Air Command from July 1, 1957 to November 30, 1964. General Power was the architect of the Operation Chrome Dome airborne alert program that ensured that a proportion of the nuclear-armed strategic bombers were always aloft so as to survive a first strike. General Power served as commander of SAC until his retirement from the Air Force on November 30, 1970
(USAF Photo)
General John D. Ryan served as the fourth commander of the Strategic Air Command from December 1, 1964 to January 31, 1967. During his tenure at SAC, he oversaw the early stages of the strategic bombing campaign during the Vietnam War and Operation Arc Light, a conventional bombing campaign aimed at striking at enemy bases, supply routes, and behind-the-lines troop concentrations. After relinquishing command of SAC, General Ryan served as commander in chief of the Pacific Air Forces from 1967-1968, vice chief of staff from 1968-1969, and chief of staff from 1969-1973. General Ryan retired from the Air Force on July 31, 1973
(USAF Photo)
General Joseph J. Nazzaro served as the fifth commander of the Strategic Air Command from February 1, 1967 to July 31, 1968. During his tenure, SAC instituted the Missile Combat Competition to train the Intercontinental-Ballistic Missile combat crews during wartime situations and welcomed the F-111 Aardvark supersonic medium-range interdictor bomber into the SAC fleet of aircraft. In 1968, General Nazzaro was appointed commander of the Pacific Air Forces and oversaw the last stage of Operation Rolling Thunder. General Nazzaro retired from the Air Force on August 1, 1971
(USAF Photo)
General Bruce K. Holloway served as the sixth commander of the Strategic Air Command from August 1, 1968 to April 30, 1972. Prior to commanding SAC, he served as commander of US Air Forces in Europe from July 1965 to August 1, 1966. He served as vice chief of staff of the US Air Force from 1966 to 1968, when he left to assume command of SAC. General Holloway retired from the Air Force on April 30, 1972
(USAF Photo)
General John C. Meyer
General John C. Meyer served as the seventh commander of the Strategic Air Command from May 1, 1972 to July 31, 1974. During his tenure at SAC, General Meyer directed Operation Linebacker II, the Christmas 1972 bombing of North Vietnam. General Meyer retired from the Air Force on July 1, 1974
(USAF Photo)
General Russel E. Dougherty served as the eighth commander of the Strategic Air Command from May 1, 1972 to July 31, 1974. Prior to his tenure with SAC, Lt. Gen. Dougherty served as commander of the Second Air Force from April 1971 to May 1972. In 1972, he was promoted to General and assigned as chief of staff of Supreme Headquarters Allied Powers Europe (SHAPE). General Dougherty retired from the Air Force on October 1, 1977
(USAF Photo)
General Richard H. Ellis served as the ninth commander of the Strategic Air Command from August 1, 1974 to July 31, 1977. Prior to his assignment at SAC, General Ellis served as vice chief of staff of the Air Force from November 1973 to August 1975, commander of Allied Air Forces Central Europe, and commander in chief, US Air Forces in Europe. General Ellis retired from the Air Force on August 1, 1981
(USAF Photo)
General Bennie L. Davis served as the tenth commander of the Strategic Air Command from August 1, 1981 to July 31, 1985. Prior to his assignment to SAC, Lt Gen Davis served as deputy chief of staff, personnel, and after promotion to General, he took command of the Air Training Command at Randolph Air Force Base, serving as commander from April 1979 to August 1981. General Davis retired on August 1, 1985
(USAF Photo)
General Larry D. Welch served as the eleventh commander of the Strategic Air Command from August 1, 1985 to June 22, 1986. During his tenure at SAC, General Welch oversaw the transition to the B-1B Lancer strategic bomber and discussed the need to modernize the USAF fleet of strategic bombers to meet the needs of the USAF in the next 50 years, as well as the need for a new advanced stealth bomber which would lead to the beginnings of the B-2 bomber project. In 1986, General Welch was appointed chief of staff of the Air Force, General Welch retired from the Air Force on June 30, 1990
(USAF Photo)
General John T. Chain Jr. served as the twelfth commander of the Strategic Air Command from June 22, 1986 to January 24, 1991. During his tenure at SAC, General Chain oversaw the LGM-118A Peacekeeper missile operations. Prior to his assignment to SAC, General Chain served as chief of staff for Supreme Allied Powers in Europe (SHAPE). General Chain retired from the Air Force on January 31, 1991
(USAF Photo)
General George L. Butler served as the thirteenth, and final, commander of the Strategic Air Command from January 25, 1991 to June 1, 1992, when SAC was disestablished and its organizations and equipment were moved to the newly established Air Combat Command, the newly established Air Mobility Command, USAFE, PACAF, and AETC. General Butler then served as commander of the United States Strategic Command from June 1, 1992 to February 14, 1994. General Butler retired from the United States Air Force on February 28, 1994
(USAF Photo)
SAC Photo (A52-41)
Caption: A strategic Air Command Stratofortress lumbers toward its parking spot on the ramp at Homestead AFB, Fla., after a long, routine training mission. Its wings droop, but the "big bird" isn't tired, just out of its element. In flight, it's wing tips will be higher than the cockpit. Ground crewmen ignore a Florida rain squall to direct the B-52H to its berth.
The B-52 has been in service with the USAF since 1950
(Official USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art Collection held at Air University Library)
(Photo E-23)
Caption: Crew races for its B-52 during practice alert. The aircraft has already been preflighted and within a matter of seconds it will be rolling down the runway.
The B-52 has been in service with the USAF since 1950
(Official USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art Collection held at Air University Library)
(Photo no. 153068 A.C.)
The Strategic Air Command was the initial operator of the C-124 Globemaster. Strategic support squadrons used 50 C-124 Globemasters in the SAC fleet to transport weapons between air bases and airlift SAC personnel between 1950 and 1962
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art Collection held at Air University Library)
The Lockheed P-80 was the first jet fighter used operationally by the US Army Air Forces in World War II. The Strategic Air Command had F-80C Shooting Stars in service from 1946 through 1948 with the 1st Fighter Group and the 56th Fighter Group
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art and Photograph Collection held at Air University Library)
The Republic F-84 Thunderjet was a turbojet fighter-bomber that entered into service with the USAF in 1947. It was the first production fighter aircraft to utilize inflight refueling. The Strategic Air Command had F-84 Thunderjets in service from 1948 through 1957
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art Collection held at Air University)
The KC-10 Extender is an aerial refueling tanker operated by the USAF. The Strategic Air Command operated 60 KC-10 Extenders from 1981 to 1992
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art Collection held at Air University Library)
SAC, SINGLE MANAGER OF THE U.S. AIR FORCE TANKER FLEET - The Strategic Air Command, with its KC-135 Stratotankers, provides all air-to-air refueling for the U.S. Air Force, worldwide. One of these tankers is shown refueling a flight of F-4C Phantom fighters in Southeast Asia. The fighters belong to the Tactical Air Command
(U.S. Air Force Photo from the Air University Art and Photograph Collection held at Air University Library)
Airborne Command Post - Special KC-135-B jet Stratotankers stand ready to assume control of SAC's intercontinental range bombers and missiles, should the SAC underground and alternate command posts become inoperative. The communications-laden aircraft are airborne around the clock. Before a plane completing its tour of duty lands, the follow-on aircraft is already on station. A general officer and a highly skilled team of controllers and operators are always on board.
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art and Photograph Collection held at Air University Library)
The Republic P-47 Thunderbolt served with the Strategic Air Command from 1946 to 1947
(U.S. Air Force Photo from the Air University Press Art and Photograph Collection held at Air University Library)
The North American F-82 Twin Mustang fighter plane designed to escort B-29 Superfortresses on long bombing missions in the Pacific during World War II. The war ended before the planes became operational. Post-war, the Strategic Air Command used the planes as long-range escort fighter from 1948 to 1957
(USAF Photo from the Air University Press Art and Photograph Collection held at Air University Library)
LGM-118A Peacekeeper intercontinental ballistic missile test. The Peacekeeper reached initial operational capability in 1986. The last Peacekeeper missile was deactivated on 19 September 2005 and their warheads moved to the Minuteman III missile
