Print Page

Citing Resources: Citation Generators

April 2020

Citation Generators

When using a citation generator, you should always check to insure the citation contains all the elements called for by the style guide.

Microsoft Word includes a function for storing citation data and formulating either footnotes or endnotes and bibliographies in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian styles.  Because sources are entered into a Current List and a Master List, sources may be shared across individual papers.

Google Scholar has a citation feature which produces citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.

Some databases available through AUL have citation generators providing citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.

Citation Generators

BibMe
BibMe is a free online citation generator developed as a student project at Carnegie Mellon University.  It formats citations and produces bibliographies in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian styles.  Auto-fill feature allows you to find your source by entering the title or author.  If a source is found, information is added to the appropriate fields and you may modify or add additional information as necessary.

Citation Machine
Citation Machine is a free online citation generator developed by David Warlick of the Landmark Project as part of the Landmarks for Schools Web site.  It produces citations in APA, Chicago, MLA, and Turabian styles.  Auto-fill and manual entry modes available. Each citation must be individually saved to your document.

EasyBib
EasyBib in an online citation generator producing citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.  Premium editions provide note-taking options, data import and bibliography sharing.

KnightCite
KnightCite is a free online citation generator developed by the Hekman Library of Calvin College.  It produces citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.  Registered users may have citations cumulate into bibliographies.

NoodleTools Express
NoodleTools Express is a free online citation generator developed by Debbie and Damon Abilock.  It produces citations in APA, Chicago, and MLA styles.  Each citation must be individually saved to your document.  A subscription version is available which allows book data to be imported from WorldCat and which facilitates bibliography production.  Register for MLA Light account.

ZoteroBib ZBib.org
ZoteroBib helps you build a bibliography instantly from any computer or device, without creating an account or installing any software. It’s brought to you by the team behind Zotero, the powerful open-source research tool recommended by thousands of universities worldwide, so you can trust it to help you seamlessly add sources and produce perfect bibliographies. If you need to reuse sources across multiple projects or build a shared research library, we recommend using Zotero instead.

Air University Library | Hours | Contact Us | About Us | Help
Air University Library Facebook Twitter Instagram Air University
Accessibility/Section 508