COVID-19: COVID-19

Scholarly Literature

The outbreak of the novel coronavirus in China (COVID-19) represents a significant and urgent threat to global health. Therefore, many publishers, like the ones below, are participating in the free exchange of current health information in order to ensure that research findings and data relevant to this outbreak are shared rapidly and openly to inform the public health response and help save lives. You can learn more at the Wellcome Trust.

Government and Organizational Resources

• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)​

  • Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (MMWR)

  • Print resources

• Defense Technical Information Center (DTIC)

• Food and Drug Administration (FDA)

  • FDA Drug Shortages Database

• Maryland Department of Health (MDH)

  • ​MDH COVID-2019 FAQs PDF

  • Maryland Department of Health, PDF on coping with mental health and stress and anxiety during COVID-19, page 11 for healthcare workers

• Montgomery County Government, Department of Health and Human Services, COVID-19 Information

• National Association of County and City Health Officials (NACCHO), Directory of Local Health Departments

• National Institute of Allergy and Infectious Diseases: Coronaviruses

• National Institutes of Health (NIH) COVID-19 research

• National Library of Medicine

  • ​DisasterLit (Grey literature)

  • GenBank (Annotated genome sequence)

  • LitCOVID (Curated literature hub) 

  • Medline Plus (Consumer level information)

    • Medline Plus (Spanish)

  • NCBI Virus (Search, retrieve, and analyze 2019-nCoV Genbank data)

  • PubMed (Scholarly literature database)

• Nextstrain (Genomic epidemiology of nCoV)

• Occupational Health and Safety Administration (OSHA)

• ProMED-mail (Publicly-available system conducting global reporting of outbreaks)

• University of Minnesota's Center of Infectious Disease Research and Policy

• University of Oxford and the Center for Evidence-Based Medicine's COVID-19 Evidence Service

• US Department of Homeland Security: Master Question List for COVID-19 (caused by SARS-CoV-2)

• US Government Response to Coronavirus, COVID-19

• World Health Organization (WHO)

YouTube was recently blocked on DISA networks computers, so you may need to use personal phones/iPads to view educational videos.  

Educational Resources

• Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity (COCA) from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)
  • Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Update and Infection Prevention and Control Recommendations (video resource)
  • Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Update: Information for Clinicians Caring for Children and Pregnant Women (video resource)
  • Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Update - What Clinicians Need to Know to Prepare for COVID-19 in the United States (video resource)
• Coronavirus (COVID-19) Preparedness and Response for Primary Care Providers, the National Nurse-Led Care Coalition (NNCC) (video resource)
• Coronavirus Quarantine and Psychosocial Support, Parts 1 and 2, the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies (IFRC) (video resource)
• COVID-19 Communication Skills, A VitalTalk open source primer for talking about COVID-19 (text resource)
• Healthcare Systems Preparedness for COVID-19, YouTube video by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) (video resource)
• IV Vasoactive Medication Basics for the Non-Intensivist...in the age of COVID-19, YouTube video by COL Bunin (video resource)
• Novel Coronavirus: A Physician's Guide, the American College of Physicians (learning activity)
• Online micro learning activities on non-pharmaceutical countermeasures in relation to COVID-19, European Centre for Disease Prevention and Control (learning activity)
• Preparing Hospitals and Healthcare Personnel for Long-Term Respirator Usage, YouTube video from the Association of Healthcare Emergency Preparedness Professionals (AHEPP) (video resource)
• Shock Basics for the Non-Intensivist...in the age of COVID-19, YouTube video by COL Bunin (video resource)
• Society of Critical Care Medicine's (SCCM) COVID-19 Resources (learning activity)
  • ​Clinical resources include: Recognition and Assessment of the Seriously Ill Patient, Airway Management, Airway Assessment and Management, Critical Care for Older Adults, Diagnosis and Management of Acute Respiratory Failure, Mechanical Ventilation I, Mechanical Ventilation II, and Diagnosis and Management of Shock. 
  • Disaster Preparedness and Response resources include: ICU Microcosm Within Disaster Medical Response, Augmenting Critical Care Capacity During a Disaster, Disaster Triage and Allocation of Scarce Resources, Sustained Mechanical Ventilation Outside Traditional Intensive Care Units, and Biohazard Disasters: Natural and Intentional Outbreaks. 
• Sonosite's COVID-19 Educational Content (video resource)
  • Includes point-of-care ultrasound instructional videos

Courses

• COVID-19: Tackling the Coronavirus
  • London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine an the UK Public Health Rapid Support Team via FutureLearn, approximately 12 hours over 4 weeks [Massive Open Online Course (MOOC)]

• Emerging respiratory viruses, including COVID-19: methods for detection, prevention, response and control

  • World Health Organization, approximately 3 hours to complete

• Science Matters: Let's Talk About COVID-19

  • Imperial College London via Coursera, approximately 19 hours over 8 weeks [Massive Open Online Course (MOOC)]
• OpenWHO: World Health Organization Training Courses

Click here for Maxwell AFB page

Military Specific Resources

• Army Public Health Center - 2019 Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19)
  • Understanding Health Protection Condition (HPCON) Levels
• Coronavirus and Emerging Infectious Disease Outbreaks: How Healthcare Personnel Can Support Military Families and their Health, from the Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress at the Uniformed Services University
• Federal Government Telework Program
• ​Health.mil - Military Health System guidance and updates​
• Military OneSource: Coronavirus information for our MIlitary Community
• Navy and Marine Corps Public Health Center: Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19)
• US Department of Defense - DOD response to coronavirus outbreak 
• ​US Office of Personnel Management (OPM), Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Memorandums

Guidance for Providers (for training, please select the Education tab)

• American Academy of Pediatrics' Critical Updates on COVID-19
• American College of Cardiology's COVID-19 Hub
• American College of Physicians, Coronavirus Disease (COVID-19) Information for Internists
• American Medical Association, COVID-19 Resource Center for Physicians
• American Society of Clinical Oncology Coronavirus Resources
• Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Resources:
  • CDC Information for Healthcare Providers
  • CDC Information for Healthcare Facilities
  • CDC Information for Health Departments
  • CDC Information for Laboratories
• Alabama Department of Public Health information on evaluating patients for COVID-19, visit COVID-19 Resources for Healthcare Providers.
• University of Washington's COVID-19 Resource Site: "Since the outbreak began, our colleagues, locally and nationally, have been reaching out to us for assistance as they start to see cases. We hope that by sharing our work, we can assist your teams and facilities to move more quickly and to spend more time responding and less time typing. Most of these documents have been written since Monday, February 24th 2020 and are undergoing frequent revisions as the COVID-19 situation evolves. When using the documents, we caution you to be mindful of the date the document was produced and to check that against current knowledge and evolving clinical standards."

Additional Interactive Maps:

• Genomic Epidemiology of Novel Coronavirus (HCoV-19)
• Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Health Map
• Novel Coronavirus (COVID-19) Situation, by the World Health Organization

Tips and Tricks for Teaching Remotely: Developing online courses takes immense thought and planning.  However, for the duration for the academic term, we will need to do our best to quickly transition from in person instruction to remote instruction.  Be flexible in your expectations as you will not be able to deliver courses in the exact same way and students will not be able to interact in the exact same way as a face to face classroom.  Use the information below to ease the transition for yourself and your students.

How to Communicate

How to Deliver Content

How Will Students Complete Learning Activities

Click here for the Federal Government's Telework Program

Telework Guide

Access to the Air University Library and its resources is available to current Air University staff, students and faculty. For access information, please see links below:

• EZproxy (remote access)
• RefWorks (citation manager)
• Suggest a Purchase
• CSAF Reading List View Guide Inf
• Contact Library Staff for article requests, literature searches, or general questions

Literature Searching

Ask a librarian for assistance with a literature search

​A lit search is searching a database for targeted results on your topic

• Contact us for a lit search for these types of questions:
  • Research/QI project searching 

Other related pieces to lit searching:

• We're happy to teach you to search literature efficiently on your own
• We can consult on best keywords, phrases, and controlled vocabulary for your searches if you want to work with us instead of have us conduct the search for you. 
• We can also work with you to see if there have been similar papers/projects done in the past, though rule-out searches are tricky based on database availability. 
• We offer assistance with extensive/long-term research projects such as systematic reviews/meta-analysis/scoping reviews, but we request that you meet with us so we can discuss library services and timeframes.

Request document delivery if you're looking for full-text PDFs for citations you've found

Set up a an NCBI account

My NCBI allows you to save searches, save collections of citations, manage filters, and save site preferences for major NCBI databases in PubMed.

We recommend setting up a free account (you don't have to use your @mail.mil address) so you can have personalized features, such as the links to full text results, highlighting of your search results, and the abstracts displayed when you search rather than just the summaries of articles.

Once you've created an account, go to the Filters box, click on "Manage Filters" and then select "Link Out". In the box, type in "Darnall" and check off both the boxes for filter and link icon. Next, in the search box, type in "Free Full Text," and check off the box for "filter."

Now you can go back to the top of the screen and click on "MyNCBI" again to customize your results display. Choose "NCBI Site Preferences" then, on the next page, change your highlighting preferences to a color of your choice (it is probably default to a non-color), and your "result display setting" to "abstract" and whichever number you choose instead of summary. You're all set and ready to search!

More information on NCBI accounts (there's a lot more to them, including saved searches)

Signing up for an account

MyNCBI Site Help

Tips and Tricks for Teleworking during COVID-19

• Salisbury University's guide for Activities for Kids during COVID-19 Closings. 
• The Scholarly Kitchen's Building Your Remote Workforce: Including Tips & Tricks for Social Distancing

Local Resources

• Maxwell AFB and Gunter Annex

• Alabama Department of Public Health

  • Alabama COVID-19 Testing

    Call the Alabama COVID-19 24/7 hotline at 1-888-264-2256 for testing sites and hours of operation.

    For more information on testing for COVID-19, visit COVID-19 Testing

  • Alabama Statewide Public Health Order

    On March 19, 2020, Governor Kay Ivey and the Alabama Department of Public Health issued a statewide health order to aid in Alabama's efforts to contain the spread of COVID-19. Read the full health order online.

• Georgia Department of Public Health

• Florida Department of Public Health