eBooks: eBook Collections at Air University Library

Air University Library has been diligently working to offer more eBooks options for Faculty, Staff, and Students during the current remote environment. 

To find the eBooks we have available, please search our Discovery tool for the eBooks we subscribe or go directly to their platforms in our Database List.

Want a print title in e-format? Let us know by submitting a "Suggest A Purchase" form and adding a note requesting the eBook version. 

Please keep in mind that textbooks are difficult for libraries to acquire in digital form due to vendor/publisher restrictions. 

Audible and Kindle: We are not able to provide books available through Audible or Kindle due to limitations from the vendor. 

Curriculum:

1. Requests: If you are requesting eBooks for your classroom, please submit the list as soon as possible to allow time for the exploration of possible options when preparing your course. 
2. Links: Using the permalink to a book will allow your student to directly connect to a resource; however, it is always a good practice to check the links prior to your course starting. 

eBook Platforms at Air University Library

Access to Air University Library electronic resources is limited to members students, faculty and staff of Air University.  Username and password are required for access.  To locate your password, click here.

• Air University Press E-Books and Journals  
• Cambridge Core  -- Tutorial
  Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Access ONLY includes eBooks for the entire AY20/21.
• EBSCOhost Audiobooks  -- Tutorial
  To download Ebscohost audiobooks, first establish My EBSCOhost account with your personal user ID and password. You will be prompted to download EBSCO Audiobooks App to your device. Click here for more information.
• EBSCOhost eBooks  -- Tutorial
  To download Ebscohost eBooks, first establish My EBSCOhost account with your personal user ID and password.  You will also need to download Adobe Digital Editions and create a personal account. Maximum checkout length is 21 days. You can read the text online and download some pages as PDF. In order to download the entire book, take notes, toggle between notes and text, or highlight the text, you will need to create an account.
• Gale Virtual Reference Library  -- Tutorial
  An online library of thousands of multi-disciplinary reference titles with unlimited access.
• JSTOR eBooks    -- Tutorial
  Air University Library now has subscription to all JSTOR eBooks for AY20/21.
• Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)  -- Tutorial
  Provides access to thousands of eBooks across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Access to eBooks for AY20/21 spanning the subject of Political Science.
• Wiley Online Library  -- Tutorial
  Access to Wiley eBooks for AY20/21. 

Leisure Reading from Air Force Virtual Library

• OverDrive (sign in using your .mil email address). Note that these are 1 user titles and NOT ideal for Reserves. Additionally, Air University Library does not have control over the number of copies. Learn more about creating an OverDrive account.
• Hoopla is the leading all-in-one digital media service that partners with libraries to provide online and mobile access to thousands of eBooks, audiobooks, comics, music, movies and television. To access you must log on through My.af.mil or Military One Source. See more details on how to create a Hoopla account.

Open Access eBooks

• Open Library from the Internet Archive. The Internet Archive and participating libraries have selected digitized books from their collections that are available to be borrowed by one patron at a time from anywhere in the world for free. These books are available in BookReader format and usually in PDF and ePub formats. You can choose which format you prefer as you complete the borrowing process. BookReader editions may be read online immediately in your web browser. No special software is required. Other Internet Archive loans are managed through Adobe Digital Editions and will require software installation on your computer or device. You can borrow a title to read online for 1 hour, or check it out for a period of 14 days. Even if the title is checked out, you can still read online for the 1 hour.
• Google Books  -- Tutorial will sometimes allow you to search within a book or read excerpts. 

The Library purchases and make e-books access in a number of ways: