eBooks

These bibliographies and subject research guides are an archival reference collection and are not maintained.

There may be outdated links within these documents.

See current and updated materials on our Subject Research Guides page. To find other items in the AUL collection, search our catalog or contact an AUL Librarian. 

Access to Air University Library electronic resources is limited to members students, faculty and staff of Air University.  Username and password are required for access.  To locate your password, click here.

• Air University Press E-Books and Journals  
• Cambridge Core  -- Tutorial
  Cambridge Core is the home of academic content from Cambridge University Press. Access ONLY includes eBooks for the entire AY20/21.
• EBSCOhost Audiobooks  -- Tutorial
  To download Ebscohost audiobooks, first establish My EBSCOhost account with your personal user ID and password. You will be prompted to download EBSCO Audiobooks App to your device.  Click here for more information. Learn more about accessing EBSCO Audiobooks.
• EBSCOhost eBooks  -- Tutorial
  To download Ebscohost eBooks, first establish My EBSCOhost account with your personal user ID and password.  You will also need to download Adobe Digital Editions and create a personal account. Maximum checkout length is 21 days. You can read the text online and download some pages as PDF. In order to download EBSCO eBooks, you must have Adobe Digital Editions installed on your computer. You will also need to use Adobe Digital Editions to transfer an eBook to a supported portable eReader device. Learn more about accessing Ebsco eBooks. 
• Gale Virtual Reference Library  -- Tutorial
  An online library of thousands of multi-disciplinary reference titles with unlimited access.
• JSTOR eBooks    -- Tutorial
• Air University Library now has subscription to all JSTOR eBooks for AY20/21.
• Oxford Scholarship Online (OSO)  -- Tutorial
  Provides  access to thousands of eBooks across the world-renowned scholarly list of Oxford University Press (OUP). Access to eBooks for AY20/21 spanning the subject of Political Science.
• Wiley Online Library  -- Tutorial
  Access to Wiley eBooks for AY20/21. 

These resources are available to all USAF military, civilians, contractors, retirees, and families that have access to a .mil e-mail address. Log in to the AF Portal (my.af.mil) with your CAC card, go to Library and Resources in the top Navigation bar and click Online Resources. Scroll down the list to access these databases. Military dependents without portal access use most of them through MWR Libraries on Military One Source.

• EBSCOhost Audiobooks
  Account creation and mobile device app use required to borrow audiobooks. Use the "Create one now" option on the Sign-In page to create accounts.              
  EBSCO Audiobook Tutorial
   
• EBSCOhost eBooksAccount registration required to borrow ebooks, or you can read online. Select the "Create one now" link from the Sign-In page to create a new account. A personal email address can be used if you choose.

            Reading EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost

            Downloading EBSCO eBooks in EBSCOhost

            Downloading EBSCO eBooks to Your Mobile Device

• Hoopla
  All hoopla content is accessible via hoopla mobile apps and via the hoopla website. Follow the link and click "Get Started Today" to set up your account.  You may use a personal email address if you choose. Checkouts limited to 21 titles per month. See more details on how to create a Hoopla account.
   
• OverDrive

  Access from a computer or OverDrive Libby app using your library account number and pin. If you don't have a library account, click "Sign In" at the top right of the page, choose under the "Select a Library" dropdown select "Air Force - Email Self Registration." You must use your @us.af.mil email.  A verification code will be sent to your email to complete sign in.  Note: verification code is required with every sign in on computers when using the email registration option. Please search for the library name "Department of Defense" when using the OverDrive Libby app.

  • Learn more about creating an OverDrive account.

• O’Reilly Online Learning (previously Safari Books Online) 
  Provides access to more than 57,000 eBooks, videos, live learning and interactive coding sandboxes and tutorials.
   

• Skillsoft
  To open this database, mouse over Career & Training in the top navigation bar, then click AF eLearning from the drop down menu. You can use the “Search Content" bar at the top of the page, or click “Browse the Library” to view available categories.   Learn more about how to access Skillsoft.

• Air University Press E-Books and Journals  
  Air University (AU) Press, Air University at Maxwell AFB, Alabama, publishes scholarly books, journals, faculty research, student papers selected by AU schools, and the Air University Catalog and other administrative documents for AU.
• Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)
  OAPEN Foundation based at the National Library in The Hague. Database contains more than 5,000 academic, peer-reviewed books.
   

• Google Books  -- Tutorial
  Searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned. On Google Books, you can read books and magazines, download them for later, cite them and translate them.

• Internet Archive
  Offers over 12,000,000 freely downloadable books and texts. There is also a collection of 550,000 modern eBooks that may be borrowed by anyone with a free archive.org account.

• National Academies Press Free eBooks

  Publishes the reports of the National Academies of Sciences, Engineering and Medicine with more than 8,500 titles.

• OAPEN Library

  Open Access Publishing in European Networks (OAPEN) Library contains freely accessible academic books, mainly in the area of humanities and social sciences.

• Open Book Publishers

  Open Book Publishers publishes monographs and textbooks in the Humanities and Social Sciences.

• Project Gutenberg E-books  -- Tutorial

  Over 60,000 free eBooks, focusing on older works no longer under US Copyright.

• World Digital Library

  Project of the U.S. Library of Congress and UNESCO. Makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.

With thanks to Emory Libraries for allowing use of material from E-Book Collections at Emory Libraries.