Print Page

Air University Library: About Us

About Us

Air University Library, founded in 1946, is the premier library in the Department of Defense (DOD). It houses well-balanced collections especially strong in the fields of war fighting, aeronautics, Air Force and DOD operations, military sciences, international relations, education, leadership, and management. Air University Library holds more than 2.6 million items: 530,000 military documents; over 429,000 monographs and bound periodical volumes; 615,000 maps and charts; 150,000 current regulations/manuals; and over 909,000 microforms. Air University Library also operates a branch library at the US Air Force Senior NCO Academy located at Maxwell AFB, Gunter Annex, Alabama, which provides tailored information collections and services for senior NCO PME. The library, located in the center of the Chennault Circle, was given the memorial name "Fairchild" after the founder and first commander of Air University, Gen Muir S. Fairchild.

An active program of bibliographic publications and indexes facilitates access to the library's holdings and information. Air University Library creates current, topic-focused Research Guides and  maintains archival access to Special bibliographies. Air University Library also publishes the Air University Library Index to Military Periodicals, published since 1949.

Air University Library's Integrated Library System automates all facets of information access, including identifying, locating, and circulating materials. Air University Library's on-line reference services include regular research and instructional assistance to the core collection of general and specialized resources. Air University's PME students are provided access to over 100 subscription and free abstract and full-text resources. Remote access to subscription research resources is provided to AU PME campus and distance students.

Air University Library is a member of LYRASIS, a regional network of collaborative member libraries recently formed through the merger of SOLINET, the Southeastern Library Network and PALINET, the Pennsylvania Library Network. LYRASIS provides access and training for the Online Computer Library Center (OCLC). Membership in ASERL, the Association of Southeastern Research Libraries, promotes collaboration and resource sharing among libraries in the Southeastern U.S. Air University Library is affiliated at the state and local level with the Network of Alabama Academic Libraries (NAAL). Membership in the Military Education Research Library Network (MERLN) unites the library's collection in a single online catalog with 30 DOD research libraries.

AIR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY MISSION

Air University Library connects the Air Force professional to authoritative and relevant information resources through knowledgeable experts and tailored library tools.

AIR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY VISION STATEMENT

We fuel Air Force research and connect the nation's Airmen to information that makes a difference.

ACCESS POLICY

Air University Library's collections and information resources are primarily for the use of Air Force PME students and affiliated faculty. Air University Library is a Congressionally designated depository for U.S. Government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law (Title 44 United States Code). As a selective U.S. Government publications depository, Air University Library is open to the general public via sponsorship onto Maxwell AFB by Air Force members assigned to Maxwell/Gunter. Air University Library staff members can only sponsor civilians personally known to them. Non-affiliated civilians desiring physical access to Air University Library, who do not have a sponsor, should contact the Air University Library Director's Office for guidance on submitting a written request for access and credential verification.

AIR UNIVERSITY LIBRARY ORGANIZATIONAL CHART

MSFRIC News

Library Fact Sheet

Air University Library | Hours | Contact Us | About Us | Help
Air University Library Facebook Twitter Instagram Air University
Accessibility/Section 508