Print Page

Air University Library: Customer Services

Reference Services

The Reference Collection contains fact books, atlases, encyclopedias, dictionaries, almanacs, and bibliographies, as well as general and specific information tools. AUL policy restricts circulation of reference materials to use in-house.

The Reference Desk is staffed by librarians to answer your questions and provide information about Air University, the Air Force, AUL collections, resources and services. The Reference Desk is staffed during all hours of operation and is located near the main entrance on the first floor.

You may want to ask reference questions or verify facts. For more information, call the Reference Desk at 334-953-2888 or click here to ask AUL a question. We'll be happy to assist you.

For quick, factual questions, the library offers electronic reference services. Air University students, staff members, or faculty members receive first priority on questions received. Your request will be sent to an e-mail box that will be checked twice daily, Monday through Friday. Answers to questions will be provided as time permits. To submit an electronic reference question or click here. We'll be happy to assist you.

We also offer live Chat Reference, available on the library's home page and staffed by a librarian during the library's operating hours.

Scanning and Printing

AUL offers free scanning and printing to all patrons. CAC-enabled scan-to-email scanners and networked printers are available in the Copy Center. Wifi and plug-and-play printers and a commercial scanner are available in the reference area.

Room Reservations

Individual study and/or small group collaboration rooms with seating for up to four people are available by reservation here

Group Study Rooms can be reserved online here.

The Auditorium (Room 170) seats up to 70 people and AV projection equipment is available in the Auditorium.  Reservations may be requested here.

Maps

The Cartographic Information Section of AUL is responsible for all cartographic information support for Air University. This section enhances the educational function of Air University by providing maps and charts to students, faculty, and staff in residence at Maxwell/Gunter. Map support is also provided to AFJROTC and AFROTC detachments throughout the United States as coordinated through HQ AFROTC. Maps are available upon request by completing the Request a Map form. For more information about the Map Room or to request a map, click here.

Circulation

CATEGORY OF USERS
The major user categories are:

  • Active duty military and family members assigned to Maxwell AFB or Gunter AFB.
  • DOD civilians and family members assigned to Maxwell AFB or Gunter AFB.
  • Retired military and family members living within a 50 mile radius of Maxwell AFB.
  • National Guard and Reservists living within a 50 mile radius of Maxwell AFB.
  • For other eligible user categories contact the Circulation desk at 953-2230.

LOAN PERIODS

  • Books -- 3 weeks 
  • Videos/DVDs -- 1 week
  • Audio Books -- 3 weeks
  • Reserve Shelf Items -- Varying loan periods 
  • Faculty & Academic Instructors -- May request 90 days

RENEWALS

  • Renew by phone or in person. Contact the Circulation desk at 334-953-2230.
  • Items requested by another patron may not be renewed.

OVERDUE MATERIALS

  • Patrons who have outstanding overdue items are prohibited from borrowing other library materials until the overdue items are either paid for or returned.

RESPONSIBILITY FOR LOST/DAMAGED MATERIALS

  • The person to whom an item is charged is responsible for the return of that item.
  • Contact the Circulation staff if you have lost or damaged center materials. Replacement copies may be purchased via online bookstores.
  • Total charges are based on current replacement prices.

HOLDS

  • Please contact the Circulation staff if you wish to place a  "hold" on a resource that AUL owns.
  • AUL staff cannot place holds on materials located at the AFSNCOA Library.  Please call the AFSNCOA library at 334-416-3101 to request a hold.
  • The Circulation staff will contact you when an item you placed on hold is available for pick up. The item will be held for you for three work days.

REQUESTING BOOK DELIVERY FROM THE AFSNCOA LIBRARY TO AUL

  • Circulation staff will assist the customer in placing a request for the book to be delivered. 
  • Delivery of resources is dependent upon the AFSNCOA library staff and customer.

Interlibrary Loan

LOAN OF MATERIALS

  • Air University Library (AUL) extends limited extramural services to the libraries of other military schools, agencies and commands. Where possible, these services are also provided to the libraries of U.S. governmental agencies, research institutions and organizations, and, under certain conditions, to non-governmental libraries. On-demand bibliographies or extensive research in response to non-AU requests cannot be provided. If extensive library research is required, personnel are invited to visit AUL where guidance and assistance in use of the collection can be provided. The specific provisions of the National Interlibrary Loan Code (NILC) and the following general guidelines apply to the extramural loan of AUL materials.
  • When ordering materials, please allow 7 to 10 days for your request to be processed.
  • Please complete an online request formIf you have any questions or need assistance, please contact Interlibrary Loan at 953-7223.

BOOKS

  • Subject to demand at AUL
  • Available for 15 days loan from date of receipt of materials by borrower.

PERIODICALS

  • Photocopies of articles from current and bound periodicals are provided when possible and within the limits of copyright law.

DOCUMENTS

  • Unclassified items are available for a seven-day loan and are renewable -- local demand and extra copies permitting.
  • AUL will not loan any publications held in the military documents collection (M-) for which there is only one copy.
  • Reproduction of military documents (M-) by AUL staff for ILL requests is limited to 15 pages.
  • Air University student research papers are available when local demand and extra copies permit, and are limited to five per request. Papers are sent for 15 days loan (extensions not normally allowed).
  • Retention copies of student papers cannot be provided, however, permission to reproduce these papers is granted to military organizations upon request.
  • Organizations wishing to review large numbers of student papers should consider sending representatives to AUL.
  • Security classified items require "need-to-know" justification and assurance of proper handling, as well as the required security clearance through the security office.

Authority collection

New Air Force Policy Directives and Instructions and a current and historical collection of Air Force regulations, manuals, and pamphlets are in Bound Periodicals. Enquire at the Reference Desk for access.

Air University Library | Hours | Contact Us | About Us | Help
Air University Library Air University

Accessibility/Section 508